We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, and excellent leisure facilities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Great location, and excellent leisure facilities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I usually stay at the De Vere or Big Blue hotel when working in Lytham St Anne's, but thought I would give Glendower hotel a try, and overall was very impressed. The location is great, walking distance from the town centre, and right in front of the beach. The town centre has the usual shops, plus an M&S, Costa, Caffe Nero, and some good restaurants - Bilash Indian, and Zen Chinese.

There is free wireless which offers speeds of 10MB+
The leisure facilities the hotel offers are excellent, there is an onsite gym with free weights, multi gym and cardio, and they also offer free access to the YMCA gyms in the Lytham St Anne's area and YMCA swimming pool and gym by the beach. Within the hotel, you can also use their free 12 foot snooker table, table tennis and Nintendo Wii on projector screen.

Breakfast is cooked to order, but I did not try this as I opted for Costa and Caffe Nero in the mornings.

The only negative I would say is the room I stayed in was in need of modernisation. The bathroom was up to date and nice, but the room needs a new modern wardrobe, desk, beds and carpet, then I would have rated it 5 stars. The reception staff service was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SukyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Good Morning
Thank you for writing your comprehensive review of the hotel we really appreciate your comments , in particular the hot breakfast cooked to order , we have tried over the years all the different styles of breakfast service but have found that freshly cooked egg's cannot be beaten (I think there may be a joke in there somewhere) , I do hope that should you return you will join us in the Restaurant & Grill I don't think you will be disappointed !!
Once Again Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    243
    102
    32
    20
See reviews for
194
329
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

It was the first time staying in this hotel and it was a superb choice. It provides a good location with a quick walk to the Square. We stayed in the Fairhaven Suite, which had two bedrooms, one ocean view. The room is very large and comfortable. Front desk service was excellent as well as the restaurant staff. We ate breakfast which was included in the price of the room. Breakfast included eggs, bacon, fruit, toast, coffee, juice, etc. There's also free internet and plenty of parking. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing us here at the hotel so favourabley , you mentioned the wonderful sea views its a beautiful clear crisp day here not a cloud in sight, we do hope you will return to see more of the same in the not too distant future.
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had our wedding here in June 2011 and the staff and management could not have been more helpful it was a fantastic day and evening . We now live in Kent with family in Yorkshire and Coventry so we all stayed over the night before the wedding too. The food was great and I cannot recommend it enough. We will be returning for our first anniversary !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello there , Your review came as a short, sweet, surprise but thank you very much , we would be delighted to welcome you back for your anniversay , please feel free to ask for me personnally so that I can organise a complimentry upgrade as a small anniversary gift .
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

starting with the gorgeous room and wonderful sea view Then you have the most delicious food
All staff from reception, dining, bar, housekeeping are so pleasant helpful highly proffesional

Room Tip: Room 102 is the tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Excellent comments , we hope to see you again really soon which hopefully will shouldnt be too hard since you live so close !!
Thanks once again
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Glendower Hotel. We had a wonderful experience last year so when we saw the winter special advertised in the Daily Mail, we thought we would take advantage.

We had a prestige room this time.. Room 106. Huge bed and a fantastic bay window, giving you a 180 degrees view of the beach and promenade. The added extras of complimentary water and dressing gowns and slippers were a lovely touch also.

Every night in the restaurant was a lovely experience. Every member of staff are so friendly and attentive. I must mention the restaurant manager Wes, very professional and charming young man. By the end of our stay he had our favorite bottle of wine chilled at our table waiting for us before we even sat down. The food quality was fantastic every single night.. I do have one criticism though. The vegetables were served in a very hot side dish with the main courses. I didn't really see the point of this nor see how it improved the customer experience. If anything it was quite irritating having to serve up your own veg before eating. However I can not fault the quality. Everything we ate was cooked to perfection.

We will be returning again!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Good Morning , Well you've certainly made Wes's day with your fantastic feedback on your stay here with us at the hotel and ours too, the views from our sea view bedrooms are spectactular and im pleased that you had some fine weather. For future reference dressing gowns & slippers are available to hire for all guests should they prefer to travel lighter in future !
We have discussed many times the pros and cons of the vegetable service and it truly is a matter of taste , please do not hesitate on your next visit to mention to the team your prefences regarding this and we will ensure to serve it the way you like it !!
Many thanks again for the comments
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We spent New Years Eve at this hotel and it was wonderful. The room was very clean & comfortable. Although the staff was very busy with a full hotel, nothing was too much trouble. The food on both nights was lovely. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Good Morning , great to hear more excellant comments regarding new year , we sincerely hope you will be back its going to be reunion party at this rate , we as a team really do appreciate you taking the time to rate us and it gives us all a real sense of satisfaction when we get a pat on the back , so many thanks once again !! :)
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Went for afternoon tea last saturday with my sister and found it to be value for money at £8.95 per head. The sandwiches were freshly made and the chocolate brownies were delicious, but we were very disappointed with the scones which were hard and dry, obviously made the day before. Even though I had booked late morning I feel freshly made scones are a MUST as most people know scones do not keep longer than a day. Had I been paying I would have commented to the young man who was serving but as it was a treat I felt unable to. I do have to say though that the staff were very pleasant and friendly and the atmosphere
relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gosolo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Good Morning
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the hotel it's obviously a double edged sword to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea but it was spoilt for you regarding the scones I am investigating how this could have slipped through the net as we have never received complaints previously I do hope that you will appreciate that this is not an indicator of the quality of our produce as this is truly not the case and that you will visit us again so that we may have the chance to prove this to you .
Once again many thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
1.3 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.6 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.8 km away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 18 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing