We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family weekend break”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Jle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family weekend break”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Took the grandchildren to this hotel second week in January. We had a really lovely time. All the staff were very friendly. The hotel was very child friendly. The food was self service,but do not let that put you off because it is cooked fresh with a large selection to choose from. The Restaurant decor is stylish.. Our grandchildren made use of the swimming pool, the games room and the Wi box, they danced and played games with the childrens entertainer in the evening.We had a extra bonus of the weather it was fine for flying kites on the beach which is across the road from the hotel. Some of the decor is rather dated in other parts of the hotel however I found the bedrooms and bathroom to be very clean. The only down side was the room we had was above the ball-room and it was noisy. I would ask for a room away from the entertainment next time I go.

Room Tip: For quiter rooms ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JleJle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at the St.Ives Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your family trip with the grandchildren and it was especially good to hear you enjoyed some fine weather for kite flying! We appreciate your comments regarding the decor in certain areas of the hotel. We are undergoing a rolling program of refurbishing bedrooms and certain public areas so hopefully if you choose to visit us again in the future, you will notice improvements within these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    268
    119
    64
    42
See reviews for
439
159
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Went to the St Ives for 2 nights in Mid Sept
The hotel is in a lovely location on the main promanade.
The rooms are lovely and very modern although I was a single person staying in a room with four beds!
I didnt have breakfast but went down for the evening meal which you have to book a time slot for and it is an extra £10 pp if you are on Bed and Breakfast. It is served by a self service buffet with really gorgeus food with a wonderful choice
There was entertainment every night even in mid Sept!
There is lots of things for kids to do
It is def a family hotel more then anything else especially peak season

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us in September. We are pleased to hear you liked your room and enjoyed your evening meal in our Pier Restaurant. Family entertainment is always on during school holidays and weekends so as you mentioned we are definately suitable for famillies at these time of year. At other times of the year entertainment is featured on selected dates, so it is always good to ring up and check beforehand whether entertainment will be available. Hope to welcome you and the family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I tried to book this hotel for a weekend stay in September.
Unfortunately, due to a glitch on Laterooms.Com the room was booked a week earlier than required. I rang Laterooms straight away and they rang me back to say that the hotel was sticking to their 'cancellation policy' and would charge me for the room. When I rang the hotel directly (still within 5 minutes of the original booking) they again refused to cancel and were very rude.
Late rooms gave me a cancellation number but the hotel refused to budge and debited my card for the full two nights. Nasty and unpleasant experience all round.
In the end I took them to the smalls claims court because I researched my rights under the 'Distance Selling Act'.
Then they paid up grudgingly. I quote "It was not economic for us to defend this claim"
Nice attitude! Ironically if they had just cancelled after Laterooms informed them of their web site issue (session persistence problems) I was about to rebook for the following week.
I will avoid this hotel in future - very unpleasant experience.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Just spent a night at the hotel with colleagues from work for our christmas party and everyone had a great time. The hotel is starting to show signs of wear but everyone was friendly and polite. The entertainment at night was good though I suppose its what you make it that counts. The food in the evening was very good and was plentiful. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent with a varied choice. The only downside for us was that the room didn't have a sea view but I believe you can pay extra for this.
The hotel is conveniently placed right across from the pier and a 2 minute walk into the town. There is also plenty of free parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
To sum it up I would definitely go back to this hotel for a short stay as it is great value for money.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if that is something that apppeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at St Ives Hotel and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is modern and breakfasts are superb! There is plenty of choice for evening meals - I love the self-service buffet which meant that we could try bits of everything we fancied.

My parents are regulars here and advised me to get a sea view room - it was definitely worth paying the extra for this. We stayed in room 42 and were very happy with it. There was a double bed and a single bed in the room and a spotlessly clean bathroom with heated towel rail. The heating in the room went off after midnight and we were quite cold during the night so utilised the quilt from the single bed in addition to our double for the rest of our stay which helped. Hot water bottles are available from reception. We made good use of the swimming pool and sauna, and also played table tennis in the games room which was fun. We thought that £1 for a game of pool was too much to pay though so we didn't bother.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to all the amenities in Lytham. During the 4 days, there was entertainment in the form of a big band on one of those nights and this was very enjoyable. We went to the cinema on another night which is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.

I'd definitely return to the St Ives for a short break and probably take my granddaughter next time as young children go for free and can also have free swimming lessons from Mike who runs a swimming club from there. My only criticism of the hotel is that the changing rooms in the leisure centre are in need of modernisation and could be cleaner.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a sea view. Give at least 30 mins notice if you want to use the sau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraSofiaMagdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My partner and I stayed from Monday 5 Dec - Friday 9 Dec 2011. We paid extra for a sea view. My partners parents also stayed over the same period.

I've nothing but praise for the place. Outstanding value, good food (as much as you want) and a sea front location. The town centre is right around the corner and the pier is just as close. Decent room as well (double bed & single.) Also had a kettle for brewing up.

We had free wifi in the room, a heated swimming pool, a sauna room and a games room. We tried them all and only found the games room a bit disappointing ( mainly arcade machines) but we did enjoy a bit of table tennis. You need to ask for the sauna to be put on as it has to get up to temperature.

The staff were friendly and helpful. I noticed a sign saying that this was a 2-star hotel. I was well satisfied with it whatever the star rating was. Going in December meant that the place wasn't too crowded which suited us.

I'd recommend this place for a quiet break and it caters well for older folk and families.

Would definitely book this place again.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a sea view and thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIGAN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just got back from an overnight stay at St Ives Hotel with 55 friends.We were happy with everything;room,dinner,breakfast;entertainment, especially the compere who we have seen twice before.The staff were very helpful and we made full use of the pool and sauna,looking forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.8 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.3 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing