We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant i could believe how nice the room were”
Review of Clifton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
dewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant i could believe how nice the room were”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

when i arrived at the hotel we were checked in efficient and quickly,the room were spacious and decorated in a very high standard,plenty of wardrobe space,bed large and comfy,bath room had a shower with a seat in it,Jacuzzi bath,be-day plenty of mirrors, two sinks, magnified shaving mirror, hair drier,trouser press,hd ready tv and radio

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickmint54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    118
    46
    25
    13
See reviews for
59
210
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

The Clifton Park Hotel web site currently has a badge on its front page boasting that it has “13 Excellent Reviews” from TripAdvisor. Our experience could not be more contradictory. In fact, we’re firmly with the 9 other reviewers who found their stay poor or terrible.

Although the front of house is presentable enough, with clean, new carpets, chandeliers and presentable rest areas, things took a downturn when we arrived at our quarters - following a long trek down a series of increasingly tired looking corridors.

The room was in an appallingly dirty condition. The carpet was matted with hair and other assorted detritus left by its previous occupant(s). So poor was its state that we suspected a prior guest might have been accompanied by a moulting dog. Sadly, the hairs liberally sprinkled around the sink and lavatory were all too human (and all too short and curly). The mugs were stuck to the tea tray with the sticky residue of their previous contents and the tray itself was stained and dirty. The remote control for the television was missing, the bed cover was grubby and greasy to the touch and the room smelled as though someone had been smoking in it – and had then attempted to cover up the stench with liberal squirts of cheap perfume.

We complained to the front of house about the carpet when we left to explore St. Annes. The person we spoke to was business-like to our faces and did promise to rectify our issues within the hour, but did not apologise. Two minutes later, we overheard her making jokes about our complaint with her colleagues – while we were standing just a few feet away…

When we returned to the room a little later, the remote had been found and the floor had been given a cursory vacuuming. There was still quite a bit of grey hair on the carpet however and, in one corner, we found someone's prescription tablet… We had bought our own disinfectant wipes to clean the bathroom – which was a good job as it had still not been touched.

Oh, and when evening fell, we discovered that the radiator’s adjustment knob was missing. And, as temperatures dropped to freezing that night, it remained resolutely set to “off”. We retrieved the spare blanket from a greasy, dusty bag in the wardrobe.

After a sleepless night, we weren't particularly enthusiastic about the “hearty breakfast” recommended by “Businessman45”. Incidentally it was, in fact, a fairly bog-standard hot buffet - just about acceptable for a 3 star hotel, but pretty far from "hearty".

A final point. On our visit the hotel was almost fully occupied – and booked up for some weeks to come. This might go some way to explaining the rather laissez faire customer service approach we experienced. When your hotel is doing well with little effort, I guess there’s no real incentive to improve.

And, it seems that the hotel’s more loyal clientele are quite satisfied with the standards that Clifton Park seem happy to provide. We overheard one elderly guest describe it as a “wonderful place”. Perhaps it is worth pointing out that, as a couple in our 30s, the hotel was not really aiming to cater to our demographic. We were the youngest people there by a margin of about 20 years - and the majority of residents seemed to be well into their 70s and 80s. The overall atmosphere was that of a care home for the elderly, which aspires to grander things. Unfortunately for its younger visitors, it fails.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLastGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I was on business and as well as staying at the hotel, I held my meetings there. Nothing was too much trouble and anything requested was provided. A very hearty breakfast set me up for a busy day. The staff were so friendly and enjoyed good banter throughout my stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over the Valentine Weekend. The hotel has good parking facilities. It certainly has the wow factor when you walk through the door. We stayed on the top floor room which was absolutely gorgeous, it had a huge bed, it's own seperate bathroom and also a jacuzzi bath inside the room. There was an iron and ironing board, hairdyer, tv and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The hotel has a swimming pool which looked very inviting, a jacuzzi and a gym plus two massaging relaxation chairs.
The bar was small but had most drinks available. The seating areas were very plush and comfortable.
The food was very good and the staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful.

We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed here over the Valentine's weekend. We booked through Late Rooms and got a good deal and an executive room (which was a nice surprise). The hotel gave a very good first impression. Communal areas were well presented. There was parking both at the front and the rear. Check in was effortless. Our room was amazing but remember that this was an executive room so we can't comment on standard rooms. The walls between the rooms were very thin but I guess that's similar in most B&Bs. Location was excellent. Very close to bars and restaurants. We chose to eat at the hotel. The food was OK but had some bizarre menu options. The meal times were later than advertised both for breakfast and the evening meal. The staff seemed to be running late each time. The pool and jacuzzi looked nice but we didn't use them. There were some nice touches for Valentine's Day - heart chocolates in our room and heart shaped marshmallows with dinner. We would definitely stay here again if we could get the same rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0n_and_jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2010

This year we have stayed in five seperate UK holiday Hotels and The found that not one of them came anywhere near the standard we found at the Clifton Park Hotel in St Annes on Sea. The detailed planning and its execution by their excellent staff were visable from the very first meal.The meals, gifts staffing, entertainment,and cleaning serices excelled any hotel we have stayed in over the past few years. We even had a complimentary coach trip out including a very nice meal.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triesteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Shirley
Skipton

We spent a most enjoyable 3 nights at the Clifton Park on a group travel ‘Turkey and Tinsel’ break.
On arrival we were made most welcome and our luggage taken by the porter to our room. The twin room was spacious and clean as were the towels and the linen and on a chilly November weekend the room and bathroom were pleasantly warm.
There were plenty of cosy corners and comfortable seating where we could relax and chat.
The meals were excellent especially the buffet breakfast of fruit juice, cereals, bacon sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrambled eggs and beans plus toast and preserves
All the meals were served piping hot by the most polite and helpful waiters and waitresses, nothing was too much trouble as some of our group had mobility problems
The entertainment was superb and the arrival of Father Christmas with presents for everyone was a pleasant surprise.
The pool and the jacuzzi area is a peaceful haven, the water was so warm and relaxing.
And even though I love children this hotel does not take children under 16 so peace and quiet is assured!
We thoroughly enjoyed our break and extend our thanks to Derek and all his hard-working staff.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubberhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
4.5 km away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Park Hotel

Property: Clifton Park Hotel
Address: 299-301 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the picturesque town of St.Annes, Clifton Park Hotel is renowned for its superior quality and exemplary service and within a few minutes walk of the promenade, beach, shops, cafes & bars. The 49 en suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated each providing Digital TV, controlled heating, direct dial telephones and tea/coffee facilities as standard. The hotel boasts a Sun Lounge, licensed Bar & Restaurant and has a heated indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi to relax, teamed with a new gym to provide the perfect workout. Clifton Park Hotel is an 'Adult Only' Hotel and does not accommodate guests under the age 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Park
Clifton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing