We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dalmeny Resort Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$1,283
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel - Lytham(Lytham St Anne's)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Chadwick Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$87
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ives Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Arms Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
Book now, pay at stay
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bedford Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lindum Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$100
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Anchorage(Lytham St Anne's)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
506
333
171
61
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
506
333
171
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique roomshealth clubdance holidayevening mealdance floorstandard roomswimming poollovely hotelbreakfast was buffet stylesea frontsingle roomsea viewself serviceleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffwaiting staffboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

In a word, disappointing. On arrival there was no-one on reception, so we decided to have a drink in the bar guess what, no-one there either. Eventually after booking in we made our way to our room (176) only to find that it was very tatty. The chest of drawers between the beds was falling apart and the wardrobe doors made a heck of a noise when opened. The snooker room had table which had been repaired with black gaffer tape, thus rendering it useless. I will not be returning to this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

sorry you found us disappointing on this occasion we apologise for any inconvenience, our reception is staffed 24hrs per day and the bar is open also 24hrs this is the first ever comment of this nature and we would have liked to address any problems at the time rather than leaving it to a negative review so easily done these days ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed during the kite festival. Very nice reception area, frontage and bar. Rooms were basic but reasonable value. All we needed was a room a bed and shower. So quite happy. Would definitely stay again. Next time will bring kids and use the pool facilities. Breakfast was very good. Just used as a base whilst we flew kites and then went for dinner and drinks in town.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2015

hi many thanks for the great review we were happy we fitted your requirements look forward to seeing you again soon happy flying the team at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2015

The entrance area, bar and restaurant were lovely but once we got to the room - how disappointing! The family room was very small and consequently very hot. Don't expect any luxuries like toiletries or biscuits in the room or a blind at the bathroom window. It also smelled a little damp. An interesting design feature was the kitchen work top as a head board?!?!? The staff were doing their best (except unfortunately the first person we met on reception who clearly has not found her vocation just yet). We felt sorry for the poor bar man who was running 2 bars, unfortunately they were on different levels so he had to keep running up and down stairs. I always think it speaks volumes when at check out the staff don't ask "Have you enjoyed your stay?". Presumably this is because they already know the answer! On the plus side the entertainment was great for the kids. The hotel is very tired and quite expensive. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Equestrilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015

hi sorry you were disappointed with the hotel we apologise for this and hope we may welcome you back again with a free room upgrade we are a family 3 star seaside hotel who are trying our best with continual reinvestment and upgrades we hope we may see you again in the not too distant future ,yours sincerely the team at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015

After a rocky start, I booked over the phone and explained that my husband was disabled and we required a spacious room with a walk in shower, we went to our seaview room to find it was a family room where the double bed was in a small alcove and the bathroom had a bath. I was advised that the hotel only had three double rooms with showers and none of them were seafaring. We eventually moved to a larger room but still no shower (luckily we were only staying three nights. We booked ebb and the hotel advertised its use of fresh locally sourced food, what can I say the dinner was clearly not fresh food but frozen, the second night we ate at 7.30 and the veg were so overcooked they'd turned to mush. The staff were very attentive but we're setting up tables all around us for breakfast and as soon as I had selected the desserts from the dessert table they cleared the whole lot away. I must compliment the breakfast chef as everything was hot including the plates.
Unfortunately we won't be returning to this hotel which I believe does very well with inclusive coach tours, who obviously pay more than individual customers.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank magsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2015

hi thanks for taking the time to leave feedback we cant really understand how you managed to book a walk in shower as these are limited however all our rooms have both bath and showers we don't use frozen produce so cant really understand that comment but, were glad you enjoyed the breakfast, we hope you may consider to stay with us again where we will ensure the correct accommodation for your needs is booked and all our smiling staff will welcome you back cheers the team at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

All staff from reception to bar to cleaners were all very friendly. The family room (152 ) was clean an comfy.
Entertainment on the Saturday night was great for the kids an amusing for adults....(see pic)
Never used the pool or gym but looked good.
Will go again this year as 'Couldn't fault' anything......

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ANDREWJOY76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

hi really appreciate the fantastic feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon where we shall endeavour to be of service again cheers the team at the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews