We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place for a Long Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Studio by the Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen166
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place for a Long Weekend”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Studio by the Sea. The apartment is perfect size for a couple and the hospitality excellent. There is plenty within walking distance including some lovely bars and restaurants.

We will definitely be going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freshly made bread for breakfast was a lovely touch
Liked least: Everything was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cecilia b
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable studio with excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a very comfortable stay in this converted studio, on the edge of the New Forest and within walking distance of Lymington. Parking was easy and the studio had it's own entrance and outside area. Breakfast was excellent and Annabelle was a great host. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, comfortable studio bedroom with great breakfast!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed with my girlfriend at the Studio by The Sea last weekend for a birthday weekend away and it really was excellent accommodation and service. The room itself is spacious, well laid out and very comfortable! Possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept on and I will be in touch to find out where they got the mattress.

Fantastic little touches are everywhere, from the high quality and locally sourced soaps and bathroom products to the unlimited coffee and luxury tea bags and shortbreads that are in the kitchen.

Breakfast was exquisite, pastries, home-made bread, marmalades, jams and fruits and yoghurt all brought to your door in a hamper.

Annabelle was a great host, very welcoming and thoughtful but not intrusive in anyway. Easy walk to the town centre and marina, and close to good pub food.

Thoroughly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thanks very much and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. The mattress is John Lewis! Hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes Annabelle & Jon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EFeakes
Stotfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I can highly recommend Studio by the sea ​as a great place to stay. From the​ beautiful decor and amazingly comfortable bed, to the​ delicious​breakfast delivered to your door every morning, Studio by the Sea is on par with a 5 star hotel room - you​ really​could not ask for more​!​

Studio by the Sea has amazing views across the New Forest and is ​about a 15 minute walk to the Isle of wight ferry link​, ​which we took during our stay. ​We can also recommend a ​lovely pub ​called the Waggon & Horses, which is a short walk from the Studio, where we enjoyed an excellent meal with very attentive and friendly staff. ​

Annabelle and Jon made us feel very welcome​,​even before we arrived​! They took the trouble to check in​ with us​to ask if they could help with anything i.e. restaurants, spas, ferry​costs.​ ​During our stay we did a ​long walk on the Isle of White ​and ​had planned to order a takeaway ​to eat back at the Studio​ that evening​, unfortunately places​ in Lymington​do not deliver take out​s, so Annabelle kindly offered to drive us into Lymington later that evening to pick up some food​. It is things like this ​that for us ​really make Studio by the Sea so special​. Annabelle and Jon ​ really look after their guests.​ Thank you for having us and we will hopefully be back soon! Emma & Jess

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thanks Emma & Jess, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Annabelle & Jon King.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catjsy
jersey, c.i.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect :)”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We travel regularly to Lymington but usually stay in a hotel in Southampton and commute. Found this place on Trip advisor and absolutely loved it! Annabelle is lovely, the studio is immaculate and done out exactly to our taste... The location is perfect for us and we absolutely loved the breakfast...Annabelle, your homemade bread and jam is to die for...thank you for making us feel so welcome....we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Shower was a bit dodgy!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel V
1 review
“Cosy, luxurious B&B in great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for a few nights and got great weather. Lovely B&B - separate to main building, very private, more of a studio flat and very friendly owner who laid on a great continental breakfast each day at a time of our choosing with home-squeezed OJ and fresh coffee, lovely. Recently refurbished so lovely décor and very comfy huge double bed and large modern shower (no bath though). We stayed in good weather and it is ideally situated for the IOW ferry / cycling / forest walks or sailing. All in all the best B&B we have tried (therefore the first trip advisor review I have ever done!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, big airy room and huge comfy bed!
Liked least: wireless was patchy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieK11...
1 review
“Lovely hospitality and very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Studio by the Sea for five nights. The studio was really comfortable and more than met our needs. The breakfasts, including homemade bread and jam and lots of fresh fruit, were excellent. We appreciated the flexibility the studio gave us - the small kitchenette was a great help. There was plenty of information provided about the local area and useful little extras such a torch and binoculars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing