We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
153
89
31
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
89
31
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roll top bath fresh milk delivered pie coffee machine short break town centre lovely touch high standard full english breakfast lovely room lovely location isle of wight new forest extractor dog roast
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 323 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Excellent weekend away. Food was very good and breakfast outstanding. Staff made us most welcome and the room was very comfortable. We took our Labrador who made herself at home in the corner of the room and enjoyed the doggie beer on offer. I recommend this hotel, despite the rather high prices charged.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We (group of 8) had a weekend in Lymington and based upon a recommendation we stayed at the Mayflower. It is difficult to say whether the Mayflower is a pub with a restaurant and rooms or a very good hotel which has a bar!. Downstairs the bar has a great choice of ales, the restaurant area is small but charming and the service is first class. Lots of staff and all very helpful. The rooms are of a significantly higher quality than you might expect from a "pub" and that term does not do justice to the Mayflower.
We had a problem with a hazy TV but that was not a major issue and the overall experience was first class. I would recommend for a group as the location is near the water but it is not scenic. I would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: From our experience all of the rooms are pretty much the same.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Rooms were lovely with views over the Marina.Fantastic breakfast.Lovely log fire in the bar was really cosy.Thorougly Recommend

1  Thank keswickpenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

We've just returned from a two night break on the south coast.
Our first night was spent in the Christchurch Harbour Hotel, the second in the Mayflower, Lymington.
With two different hotels in quick succession it's hard not to make comparisons.
We were greeted with a nice warm welcome at the Mayflower, the barmaid even throwing extra logs on the open fire to warm us up.
Our room name was Kelpie. We had a lovely view over the Solent to the IOW.
The bed was big, exceptionally comfortable & dressed with quality bed linen (my wife is very particular about bed linen).
The bathroom was spacious & warm. A large walk in shower was accompanied by a lovely roll top bath.
A great room, very pleased!!

Having had a late lunch we didn't dine in the restaurant but we did order a couple of small plates at the bar which were very tasty.
Both management & staff were extremely knowledgeable & enthusiastic about everything. It made for a very enjoyable evening.
Breakfast.......perfection!! Quality ingredients cooked well!!

So for the comparison!!
We like the Christchurch HH but it's Mayflower all day long for us!!!

Thanks guys,
Jim & Lucy

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Stayed at the Mayflower on Saturday 9th December and from the time we entered, we were met by extremely friendly staff. I have to say the cleanliness was outstanding, couldn't fault it at all with beautiful Egyptian cotton sheets and fluffy bath towels as described. Breakfast was delicious with polite friendly waitresses, variety of food excellent as was quality. I have stayed in some lovely hotels eg hotel du vin, to name one but this surpasses the quality and comfort. Definitely recommend either for a night away or for a meal. Top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews