We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely appalling - don't touch it with a barge poll...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Guesthouse at Rempstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Guesthouse at Rempstone
Ranked #2 of 20 Loughborough B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely appalling - don't touch it with a barge poll...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for one night would NEVER stay again- so many faults don't know where to start. Room was oh so tired in urgent need of complete overhaul. Bathroom not very clean, shower tray FULL of black mould and litterally hanging off. Room right above traffic lights - notice these lights are brushed out of above photo - no blackout blind or curtain so flashing all night long in room. No socket anywhere near a mirror and no extention lead provided. Carpets in all hallways are extreamly threadbare and not fitted so definate hazzard there. The lift was broken. The outside is shabby - broken furniture and paintpots in the 'garden' and dead plants in broken pots complete your welcome! The only good thing to say is the girl working there did her best under extreamly challenging conditions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    49
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
27
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I was sent on a training course at a nearby organisation. The Guesthouse at Rempstone was the nearest to it and it was very clean, homely and welcoming.

My room was comfortable had TV with Freeview an en suite bathroom, refridgerator etc. Wifi was available.

The room price included breakfast but evening meals were available in the residents bar downstairs and they beat another local hostelry hands down, absolutely delicious. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

On arrival we were greeted by the guy who lives in the flat upstairs. He had no idea where we could eat locally and apart from a couple of menus there was no information on local facilities unless you wanted a helicopter flight. The residents bar was closed for the duration of our stay and when we finally got to meet the proprietor the next morning we weren't even asked if we'd slept well. The room was clean but overlooking a busy junction so we were kept awake most of the night by traffic (it was a hot night so we had the window open) and live music from a nearby pub which seemed to go on all night. Oh yes, I nearly forgot, the place can accommodate 60 guests but only has parking for around ten cars so do the maths. The breakfast was good but limited selection, no yoghurt etc and just a few apples and oranges by way of fresh fruit. We've had worse but we've certainly had much better. Would we return? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trabdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

we stayed here as we had been double booked at the premier inn and i for one am glad we were the guesthouse was warm and friendly and breakfast was brilliant the only thing we found that was negative was that we didnt find it earlier we will definatley stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nosnibor-srm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Booked rempstone b and b for the bar and good location for everyman racing, great location for the racing only minutes away, great breakfast but unfortunately don't do evening meals, we was met by the cleaner who was lovely but is it her job to book us in? We booked it as it had a bar but when we arrived was told they don't open it anymore so had to walk to the pub, overall was not too bad ,would I stay there again?probably if the bar opened

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed 4 nights and found the place ideal in terms of location and the accommodation. The bedroom was well finished and in excellent condition. Breakfast was very good. Above all the welcome from Marc & Mark made the stay even more friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

As a few other reviewers have stated, this guest house is very handy for Prestwold Hall - and the reason we ended up there was for a driving experience I'd booked for my partner's birthday!

The rooms are very comfortable and attractively decorated. We had a small en suite shower room and toilet, plus the usual tea/coffee facilities and television. Our room overlooked the main road and I was a little concerned about traffice noise however our sleep was not disturbed at all. Must be great double glazing!

Evening meals are not offered routinely, however if you call beforehand this can be arranged. The owners recommended The Packe Arms, which is about half a mile away and we thoroughly enjoyed the freshly cooked meals there. The cooked breakfasts at the guest house are very good though.

There is a bar on the premises, with a pool table, but the bar wasn't open either of the two nights we spent there. We walked round the corner to the little local bar, The White Lion - which also seems to double as the local shop!

I was very impressed with the friendliness of the proprietors. They couldn't have been more welcoming. And they very kindly allowed us use of their printer so my partner could print out his driving experience confirmation letter!

I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone travelling to the Loughborough area. If we were ever back in the area we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Champersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
8.0 km away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
10.4 km away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
8.4 km away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
7.7 km away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
10.6 km away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse at Rempstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse at Rempstone

Property: The Guesthouse at Rempstone
Address: Nightingales Main Street | Rempstone, Loughborough LE12 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse dates from the 1890's and after refurbishment offers Guest's lounge with large flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and microwave. dining room, 6 en-suite bedrooms, 6 standard bedrooms with washbasin. All rooms non-smoking, with radiator, fresh laundry, hair-drier, clock/radio,flat screen wall mounted tv, wireless internet and tea/coffee making facilities. Approximately 4 miles from Loughborough centre and railway station on the A60 and within easy commuting distance of University, East Midlands Airport, Nottingham and Leicester. Private Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Guesthouse at Rempstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing