We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe for lunch ”
Review of Just Be

Just Be
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$42
Description: During the day we offer the finest Coffee, Teas & homemade, fresh, locally sourced, tasty food & fantastic cakes. By night (Thu to Sat) we offer a high quality Bistro style menu catering for all tastes, again with the emphasis on local, fresh and quality. We are now licensed and offer a carefully selected range of Wines, Proseccos & Champagne, Scottish Gins and bottled Beers to complement your meal. All served in a relaxed & friendly environment right in the heart of Lockerbie.
Restaurant details
Description: During the day we offer the finest Coffee, Teas & homemade, fresh, locally sourced, tasty food & fantastic cakes. By night (Thu to Sat) we offer a high quality Bistro style menu catering for all tastes, again with the emphasis on local, fresh and quality. We are now licensed and offer a carefully selected range of Wines, Proseccos & Champagne, Scottish Gins and bottled Beers to complement your meal. All served in a relaxed & friendly environment right in the heart of Lockerbie.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Saw this gem on High Street and was also referred by a local. So glad we tried it!
Very sophisticated cafe with a varied menu. Comfy chairs and modern atmosphere. The vibe is “just be happy!” Very relaxing and pleasant.
Had the minestrone which was good, as well as the pea mint soup which was really delicious! Tasted like maybe a hint of curry in it.
Open face salmon cucumber sandwich was cool and perfect.
Roasted red pepper and cheese panini was cheesy and well toasted.
Definitely a bright spot in town for lunch!

Thank Nory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustBe-Jim, Owner at Just Be, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Hello from Just Be,

We are glad you decided to come in! When we opened around 18 months ago we had tried to create a place exactly as you have described it so it is fantastic when we get a review like this that tells us we have managed to do that so thank you.

It's great to get reviews but we never coerse or incentivise anyone into giving us reviews, they are all, like yours, 100% genuine which makes them the more special to read.

Thanks from
Jim, Caroline & all at Team JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2018

As we don’t t care for motorway services, we left to head into Lockerbie to find a coffee shop and we were not disappointed. Just Be was the perfect place, sitting outside or in.
We were only looking for a coffee and snack so this was perfect for us. The coffe was served in glasses, which was unusual, the scones were all homemade and delicious. The staff were first class, the place was spotless, would definitely recommend calling in if you have the time on your journey. We will be using this establishment again.

Thank Midnight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustBe-Jim, Owner at Just Be, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. We use the double skinned glasses for our Lattes, Mochas and Hot Chocolates. They do a great job of keeping the drink hot and your fingers cool. Hope to see you again next time you are heading past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a Saturday evening supper here whilst driving South from John O’Groats. Jim the owner arranged a table for us despite being fully booked. We had the prawn tempura starter, then lamb shanks.
The food was delicious, the welcome genuine and the service was at a lovely natural pace.

Bravo!!

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustBe-Jim, Owner at Just Be, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Hello Mark,
Many thanks for your kind review, it's very much appreciated and sorting out a table was a minimal task compared to your epic adventure!

Kind Regards
Team JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by Lockerbie just needing a quick food and facilities break when we stumbled across Just Be.
From the outside it's well presented and the menu was very tempting.
Inside the decor is comfortable with splashes of unique.
The staff are efficient, friendly, polite and happy. The food was absolutely delicious. We had the Mac n cheese and a Mezze. We ordered slight changes to our meals that were accommodated without question.
The cakes on display looked yummy and whist we didn't have any they were very popular.
Overall, a lovely experience and worth a visit.

Thank Tirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustBe-Jim, Owner at Just Be, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Hello Kind Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this, this is always a great boost to everyone when they see their hard work being appreciated.

Hope to see you again soon,
Jim, Caroline & all at JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Since we moved to Lockerbie this was our first time when we finally booked a table for dinner in Just Be. It was a lovely warm Saturday evening and, therefore, a very pleasant walk instead of driving, so we could bring a bottle of wine to enjoy with our food. We ordered lamb, cheesy pasta and chicken goujons. All was cooked perfectly. Indeed, they have a very good chef. Coffee and deserts were lovely too. We also paid attention to a relaxing modern interior and very attentive and helpful staff. The bill was more than reasonable as we didn’t have to pay for our wine. Now we know where to go for a pleasant family dinner.

Thank Elenafp_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustBe-Jim, Owner at Just Be, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Many thanks Elen, it's very kind of you to take the time to write your detailed review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Jim & the JB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just Be also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Just Be? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing