We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
287
67
15
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
67
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely mealchicken goujonsfriendly attentive stafftown centrebig portionsfull scottishfeel very welcomean evening mealkeep up the good workhis teamplace to eatwarm welcomefirst classcooked to perfectionfantastic foodblack puddingsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 376 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Townhead for one night and could not have been happier with the choice. All the staff were welcoming and so friendly and helpful. Our room and the whole building was spotlessly clean, with lovely oak doors and finishes throughout, you can tell how much effort has been put into the decor, it's really lovely! We sat at the bar and had a fair few drinks, couldn't believe how cheap it was when we settled our tab. We didn't eat but food looked beautiful, we totally regretted eating before we arrived. The breakfast however was on another level, literally the best we've ever ever had!! Honestly can't recommend the Townhead enough, thank you so much we will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Hi Samantha

What a lovely review to read, and thank you for taking the time to leave it for us. It was great to be able to meet you both, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please drop in with us again when you are in the area.

Regards
Stephen & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We were a group of four of which none of us had visited the Townhead Hotel before but after watching the T.V. programme we wanted to try it out. What a lovely place. The staff are really friendly, the decor is smart and the food was delicious what more could you ask for? The food is beautifully presented however my husband had a little difficulty eating his peas off a board not the easiest of things but it didn't alter the fact that it was a lovely meal. We would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Hi Judith

Lovely to read your kind words here in your review, and thank you so much for leaving them for us.

The Four in a Bed program has been really good for us, and it was just great to be able to put our wee town on the map.

Sorry you had the wee problem with your peas, but we will certainly look at changing this.

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

After watching The Townhead Hotel win channel4s Four in a Bed we thought we would book a night there. We were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help us. Our evening meal was well cooked we both had sirloin steak both steaks were cooked perfectly to our liking. Breakfast was well cooked also. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We will certainly be stopping here again when in the area and we have no hesitation on recommending this hotel.Keep up the good work Stephen and your team

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 200happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

I have been staying at the Townhead Hotel Lockerbie for a number of months on contract work during this time I have experienced a wonderful atmosphere at this hotel from all that work there from the kitchen staff ( Head chef Jason Laura Jane Stefan Jim and big Jim) front of house ( Holly Honor Lee Emma Amy Calian Hannah Alison Lindsey and big Declan) housekeeping staff Angela Lisa and Nicole)

This hotel must rank as one off the best I have stayed in ( and there has been a few )rooms are of a very good standard meals of the menu from the top end selection to the humble steak pie and fish and chips are all excellent and the portions are very good value this on hotel I would recommend getting of the motorway for may it be for a meal may it be for a bed short stay or long stay you will be greeted by owner Stephen Jan and staff warmly as will the locals

DO not miss the experience of good food drink what ever it may be and a warm happy welcome pass you by

Also a recommendation telephone in advance as this is a very popular establishment for food and board

DO IT NOW AND ENJOY

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank landrover1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

What can I say?.....This is the third year in a row my wife and I have stayed at the Townhead Hotel and yet again, we left there with nothing but praise for the place

We arrived as usual at 9:30pm and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful barmaid / receptionist, who got us checked in and then showed us to Room 4 (the same room we stayed in last year, so we knew we would be in for a very good nights sleep)

Once we had freshened up a little following our drive down from Aberdeenshire, we headed down to the bar for a nightcap and had a bit of a chat with the locals (Jim is a bit of a character)

It was during this time that Stephen and Jan arrived in the bar and started giving us all a bit of an insight into the televised competition the hotel had been in 'Four in a bed', and about the film star lifestyle they were now having to get used to

We have since found out that the Townhead went on to win the competition and this comes as no surprise to us whatsoever and is thoroughly deserved

We cannot speak highly enough about this little gem of a place and we will be back again at the same time next year (we would also stay in this hotel for any other reason we happened to be in that area)

Thanks again Stephen and 'Team', you are doing a fantastic job

Mike and Mags Riach

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hak1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews