We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr &mrs Kilbride”
Review of Townhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2017

After watching TV programme and seeing TownHead Hotel won, we decided to go and sample it for ourselves.
We packed our car in its large car park and headed for reception. There we register and were welcomed and shown our cozy room for the night. We took a walk during the afternoon, and our return had a most welcomed drink at the friendly bar. The locals spoke to us and we mention the Award . The owner Stephen was very pleasant and we felt a home from home.
Our evening meal was to die for what a wonderful chef they have. The food was delicious, and well served by a young waiter Declan, who wore black gloves whilst handling our meals. The wine was enjoyable, as was the complementary glass of port.
We left the dining room two hours later and went into the comfortable bar for our night caps.
We then headed upstairs to our spotless and most comfortable bed. After a good sleep,
We headed down stairs to breakfast cooked by Stephens own hands, Poached eggs done to perfection, while hubby had a full Ulster/Scottish breakfast. Our welcome was so warm and friendly as was our departure, we even got a photo taken with Stephen and the 'Four In A Bed' plaque! We will be back after a wonderful stay and would thoroughly recommend The TownHead Hotel to friends a family!

Joe & Margaret Kilbride. Xo

Room Tip: All rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank joekilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Joe

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your very lovely review, and the lovely kind words therein.

The Four ion a Bed TV program was a great experience for us, and it is one we have enjoyed sharing with our customers and guests.

We would love to see you back again if you are ever in the area.

Best wishes
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Townhead for one night and could not have been happier with the choice. All the staff were welcoming and so friendly and helpful. Our room and the whole building was spotlessly clean, with lovely oak doors and finishes throughout, you can tell how much effort has been put into the decor, it's really lovely! We sat at the bar and had a fair few drinks, couldn't believe how cheap it was when we settled our tab. We didn't eat but food looked beautiful, we totally regretted eating before we arrived. The breakfast however was on another level, literally the best we've ever ever had!! Honestly can't recommend the Townhead enough, thank you so much we will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Samantha

What a lovely review to read, and thank you for taking the time to leave it for us. It was great to be able to meet you both, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please drop in with us again when you are in the area.

Regards
Stephen & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We were a group of four of which none of us had visited the Townhead Hotel before but after watching the T.V. programme we wanted to try it out. What a lovely place. The staff are really friendly, the decor is smart and the food was delicious what more could you ask for? The food is beautifully presented however my husband had a little difficulty eating his peas off a board not the easiest of things but it didn't alter the fact that it was a lovely meal. We would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Owner at Townhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Judith

Lovely to read your kind words here in your review, and thank you so much for leaving them for us.

The Four in a Bed program has been really good for us, and it was just great to be able to put our wee town on the map.

Sorry you had the wee problem with your peas, but we will certainly look at changing this.

Regards
Stephen & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

After watching The Townhead Hotel win channel4s Four in a Bed we thought we would book a night there. We were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help us. Our evening meal was well cooked we both had sirloin steak both steaks were cooked perfectly to our liking. Breakfast was well cooked also. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We will certainly be stopping here again when in the area and we have no hesitation on recommending this hotel.Keep up the good work Stephen and your team

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 200happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I have been staying at the Townhead Hotel Lockerbie for a number of months on contract work during this time I have experienced a wonderful atmosphere at this hotel from all that work there from the kitchen staff ( Head chef Jason Laura Jane Stefan Jim and big Jim) front of house ( Holly Honor Lee Emma Amy Calian Hannah Alison Lindsey and big Declan) housekeeping staff Angela Lisa and Nicole)

This hotel must rank as one off the best I have stayed in ( and there has been a few )rooms are of a very good standard meals of the menu from the top end selection to the humble steak pie and fish and chips are all excellent and the portions are very good value this on hotel I would recommend getting of the motorway for may it be for a meal may it be for a bed short stay or long stay you will be greeted by owner Stephen Jan and staff warmly as will the locals

DO not miss the experience of good food drink what ever it may be and a warm happy welcome pass you by

Also a recommendation telephone in advance as this is a very popular establishment for food and board


DO IT NOW AND ENJOY

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank landrover1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

What can I say?.....This is the third year in a row my wife and I have stayed at the Townhead Hotel and yet again, we left there with nothing but praise for the place

We arrived as usual at 9:30pm and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful barmaid / receptionist, who got us checked in and then showed us to Room 4 (the same room we stayed in last year, so we knew we would be in for a very good nights sleep)

Once we had freshened up a little following our drive down from Aberdeenshire, we headed down to the bar for a nightcap and had a bit of a chat with the locals (Jim is a bit of a character)

It was during this time that Stephen and Jan arrived in the bar and started giving us all a bit of an insight into the televised competition the hotel had been in 'Four in a bed', and about the film star lifestyle they were now having to get used to

We have since found out that the Townhead went on to win the competition and this comes as no surprise to us whatsoever and is thoroughly deserved

We cannot speak highly enough about this little gem of a place and we will be back again at the same time next year (we would also stay in this hotel for any other reason we happened to be in that area)

Thanks again Stephen and 'Team', you are doing a fantastic job

Mike and Mags Riach

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hak1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I havent been to the townhead in years and was impressed from start to finish. The decor is lovely and cosy and we were made feel very welcome as soon as we got through the door. The menu is extensive with a range of food from light bites to steak with all the trimmings. My dad had fish and chips and me and my mum had prawn sandwich and shared chips. Glad we shared chips as the sandwiches were massive. Dads had 2 big pieces of fish!! What a plateful. The staff are a credit to this place. The young staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Well done everyone involved.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pam190777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.7 km away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
27 km away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
9.7 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lockerbie
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
16.9 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#6 of 6 in Lockerbie
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Hotel

Address: Townhead Street, Lockerbie DG11 2AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range: C$116 - C$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Channel 4 TV program "Four in a Bed", the Townhead Hotel has been awarded the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for 2014, 2015, and 2016 for our continuous top ratings from our customers. We have also been awarded the AA 2 Star award of Accreditation, a 4 Star award from the Scottish Tourism, the Good Hotel Award for 2015 and 2016, Silver in Best Bar None Awards Scotland, and also Scottish Food and Hotel awards for 2017. These are awards which have never been accredited to this hotel before. We are a family owned and run hotel, which has been recently refurbished. Situated 1 mile off junctions 17 and 18 of the M74 motorway, the Townhead Hotel offers you a warm welcome, good food, and a friendly atmosphere. It is the ideal stopping point for Golfing and Fishing trips. We work closely with both Lockerbie and Lochmaben Golf clubs, and we are able to offer deals on B&B with Golfing included. We are also able to speak with the local fishing clubs and put our guests on the right path for exciting fishing days. Our bar comes with many beers, wines, and spirits, and is equiped with a full SKY and BT Sports package showing all major sports, including horse racing.Free wifi is also available. Our restaurant offers good fresh home cooked food, with all ingredients locally sourced and produced. All bedrooms are en-suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, along with freeview television, and a telephone. For your comfort all rooms come with a nice fluffy dressing gown for use during your stay. All our staff are fully trained, and are available at any time to assist you, should the need arise. Our aim is to maintain a high standard, and to make sure that you, the customer enjoy your stay with us. It is the ideal place to stay if you are looking for a break away from the usual city breaks, in a lovely area of South West Scotland. Our motto is: The Townhead Hotel is run by our family, for yours! Golfing Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhead Hotel Lockerbie, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing