We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
143
41
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
41
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run four poster bed venison dining room offers modern rooms one night stay extensive menu work colleagues booked nights warm welcome large room cooked meal an enjoyable meal easy access on arrival welcoming staff piping hot
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 206 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

We had an impromptu stay here on Sunday 27th May.
We rang the hotel the night before and they thankfully managed to accommodate us (including our dog).
The staff were beyond helpful and polite, the rooms were lovely and kept immaculate and the food was delightful!!!
A beautiful garden to the side of the hotel and it was very handily situated straight off the motorway (but not too close that you hear any traffic noise).
All in all, I can highly recommend this place and we will be staying again.
Thank you for our stay Somerton House Hotel!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Stayed for 4 nights for business trip, staff fantastic, very accomodating. Lovely clean crisp rooms with large TV and comfortable beds. Food very reasonably priced and tasted great. Highlight of my stay.. the warm welcoming, friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you love baths ask for room 1
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KarlHearton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Somerton House Hotel in October last year to break up a very long journey to the North of Scotland, and it was a fab stay from start to finish.

From the moment we checked in, we were welcomed very warmly, and shown straight to our room which was spacious, clean and very comfy.

Our evening meal is something we still talk about there- how such a lovely little restaurant serves such a wide menu I have no idea, but the choices were fantastic and the food was of a very high quality.

The next morning was one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had in a hotel, and nothing was too much trouble.

Thanks for a lovely, relaxing stay, it was exactly what we were looking for.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

What a great find, on booking the hotel direct to leaving all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was good with a large TV ,shower room and twin beds. Friendly bar area the restaurant served fantastic food but it's very popular so book in advance if you want to eat in the dining area but the bar area is fine.
We have a wedding in Gretna later in the year but will be commuting the 15 minutes as the hotel will make your day special instead of being one of many in Gretna.
See you soon.
Regards a happy customer.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 526neild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

Can’t ask anything more of this hotel. Food was great and never too long of a wait, nice spacious rooms with everything you need and fantastic friendly service.

It’s also nice to see a family ran hotel in a great area

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews