We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”

Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel after finding out that it was were my cousins wedding reception was taking place. Arriving at the hotel at night time was a bit hard as there are no light on the streets and the GPS had the wrong road marked. I included a picture of the right way. We were shown to our room and we immediately visit their restaurant, they have stake night every Friday with a 25£ per 2 people offer. The food was amazing and i was so impressed to find out that this offer also includes a bottle of wine. we then decided to rest and shower and it was when problems started. The light of the bathroom was not working, and the bath tub was dirty and the drain was clogged with hair. We complained to the hotel and we were told that the will change the light. Well half an hour later and the light was gone again. We then complain again and we were told that they will unblock the drain and change the light again. After a while and 2 hours passed when they realise that they can not fix it and so we were moved from room 8 to room 10. Room 10 was a bit old fashion but well.. we decided that we might as well stay, we were already late for getting ready for the wedding. So we got ready and the reception was amazing. The food was really good and service great. At night we realise that the the room we were moved had spiders and webs on the ceiling. We been very disappointed with the rooms and for that price you can get a nice a way nicer hotel. It took too long for them to move us in another room and they should have checked their rooms before they move their residence in.

Thank Georgios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are sorry with the issues of a blocked drain and light bulb not working in your bathroom, we moved you to another room once we realised the blocked drain needed a plumber instead of our attempt to rectify the problem. For this we apologise. We are pleased the reception was amazing food really good and service great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2018

The Friday Steak night is truly excellent with a special 2 for one offer it makes it fantastic value

Thank poblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we do have great meat suppliers and all the ingredients on our menu are locally sourced.
Thank you again hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

My wife and I ate here recently and thought it was very average and expensive for what we had particularly the deserts which we thought were very poor value for money. The atmosphere within the premises was also disappointing mostly due there only being ourselves and a couple of residents.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dcwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review we are sorry you felt that the desserts were not value for money at £6-£7 per dessert , as for being quiet alas it is the dreaded January in restaurant trade which generally means it is quieter than normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We went for Sunday lunch and it was disappointing.

The choice of house wine by the glass was limited. We were offered a dark table by the door when the place at about 6 guests in it. The roast beef was ok but who wants 8 potatoes, 3 roast and 5 boiled with their lunch.

Toilets not signposted , Music on repeat and staff unaware of what the specials were.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janekphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment,however we do offer the following :- 2 x reds Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot , 2 x whites Pinot Grigio & Sauvignon Blanc , 1 x rose, 1 x prosecco all by the glass plus an additional 20 alternative wines by the bottle. The Sunday roasts are served with roast potatoes & Yorkshire pudding on the plate plus a separate dish of new potatoes & seasonal vegetables. Thank you for your comments to allow us to constantly improve our offering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We took my mother there for her 87th birthday. Arrived 30 minutes early to have a drink in the bar
Staff were overstretched with huge wedding reception and bar was converted to accommodate wedding guests.
Nowhere to sit and have a drink all available seating in conservatory taken by wedding guests.
Had to remind staff and manager that we had a dinner reservation on a number of occasions.
Eventually sat down at table but were constantly asking staff for service.
In summary, check when booking to see if there is a wedding on the night you want to book for dinner.
Food was ok but not brilliant for the money paid.

Thank Denon192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighty147, General Manager at Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you felt we did not give you the service we try to give all our guests, when we are extremely busy with events taking place seating can get full as with all venues , but again sorry there was no seating available at the time you arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dryfesdale Country House Hotel also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing