We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
69
62
20
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
62
20
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden pub grub beer battered haddock order at the bar patties ate here lovely atmosphere small hotel room overlooking the harbour orkney fudge cooked food light sleeper an excellent meal co op kirkwall harbour great bar excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 158 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

The locally caught haddock was delicious and served with perfectly cooked chips. Great locally sourced food. Try the locally brewed pale ale 'Banyan' - light, crisp and floral. Perfect for a warm summer evening. Friendly service. Don't let the lacklustre decor put you off.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckremler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Don't believe off by the dull exterior and the awful traditional-looking photo menu outside. Inside, you could be in a city - it has great, up-beat atmosphere, a great selection of beers and gins, friendly service and good food, although my chickpea burger was a bit dry and needed spicing up. But overall a great place for an evening meal!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank J386PLdianap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We ramdomly found this little hotel restaurant on Kirkwall harbour and what a great finding ! One of the best meal we had in Scotland so far (and we go to Scotland pretty much every 2 months since many years...).

The homemade food was delicious (thumbs up for the roasted vegetables, Orkney Steak & Ale pie and Highland Park chicken). They also serve some local craft beers from Swannay Brewery :)

A 5-star experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anne-Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

...about 3 times a year if I can get booked in. Top things about the St Ola are staff attitudes, positive, friendly and ‘can-do’. Beer always top quality, and I must mention the King Prawn Linguini - this is an outstanding dish, with a great spicy sauce. Rooms are fine, WiFi everywhere, Angela an excellent Manager!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RGOL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

We had a superior double with harbour view. The room was large and partly modernised; the bathroom was a bit dated but adequate. The room furniture could have been better placed so that the large wardrobe didn't obscure the angle of view over the harbour. That said,it is an interesting view with something always happening. We found it to be quiet but we were there mid week, it may be livelier at the weekend.
Parking was easy outside but restrictions mean we had to move by 0930
We struggled to find an evening meal. The in-house dining room/lounge bar did not appeal and other places in the area were booked up. Definitely book food in advance.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richardt1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews