We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
119
105
52
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
105
52
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge bar four poster bed dining room great bar central location comfortable bed magnus cathedral traditional hotel friendly hotel local produce room was large stayed here for nights high standard orkney gins ales island
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 320 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Rooms spacious with four poster bed and matching chest. Bathrooms are large .Our four days included two dinners. Food and service were excellent Bar with complete assortment of whiskeys.
Reservations are advisable since it is a favorite stop for tour groups. No elevators so one must climb. stairs Not impossible since we are both in our mid-seventies! Front desk very helpful to visitors!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Visited this hotel while on a cruise. We had a good walk around Kirkwall and stopped at this lovely hotel for a pint and a coffee. The couple could not have been more welcoming and served us with great courtesy and conversation. I wished that we could have stayed to taste the VAST display of malt whisky which the pround owner had a supoerb knowledge of. My wife enjoyed their excellent coffee while I had a lovely pint of best. We must try and retrn for an overnight stay in the future.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike-netherlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Located in the centre of Kirkwall the hotel is ideally located for visiting Kirkwall and all its central attractions. A good whisky bar and good bar menu within a friendly environment.
You can walk easily to the centre of Kirkwall and a number of the attractions that are accessible.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank BigAl1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights while working in Orkney. Hotel room was clean and comfortable . TV was not in most accessible place for viewing . Bathroom and shower were fine. Breakfast was first class. Service good and choice excellent. Didn’t eat in restaurant but food in bar area was of high standard. Good selection on menu. Would stay again

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank teddy_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

An old hotel in the heart of the main town of Kirkwall, with an easy walk to St. Magnus Cathedral and the main shopping areas. They have a great breakfast menu which includes a hearty Scottish breakfast. You can also eat dinner in either the dining room or the bar and order from either menu. They are very helpful and accommodating. If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a first floor room as there is no elevator.

Room tip: No screens on the windows, but we didn't need them.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maurer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews