We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
79
72
21
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
72
21
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bothy bar pay car park central location nice amenities quiet room reception staff were friendly and helpful the breakfast area pub food excellent room bath and shower easy walking distance lovely atmosphere biscuits two single beds scottish breakfast bottled water previous night
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 189 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Albert Hotel is centrally located, has nice rooms with very spacious bathrooms that include a very large bathtub. Breakfast is typical Scottish style and they do laundry. There is an attached pub and restaurant though we visited neither. Good place to stay in Kirkwall.

Might avoid room 105 as just over the water pump for the hotel. Not terribly loud but can hear it.

Room tip: Not room over water pump
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumac319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

I guess we were lucky - we had a lovely stay at The Albert - big clean room, nice amenities (huge towels!) good breakfast (kippers!), lovely cookies, and a very accommodating staff. While we were first placed in the room above the bar (avoid 107 and 108) they quickly and efficiently moved us to a quiet room when we requested. Most accommodating. Inn is well located around shops other restaurants and major sights. Enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Rooms 107 and 108 are above the bar - can be noisy.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travel715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I was traveling solo, but part of a small group Rabbie's tour. Three of our party were staying there. When we arrived to check in there was no one at the desk. We sent someone down to the bar as instructed and a few minutes later a very harried man came to check us in. He was very rushed and a bit distracted, warned us there were several parties going on and they were short staffed. Short staffed seemed to be the theme through out the two day stay. I was not disturbed by the pub noise, but fellow travelers were. Service in the restaurant both nights was rushed and slap dash, but the food was edible. Not special, but decent. The room was clean and very comfortable, I did have qualms about the shower because the shower sprayed quite a distance past the glass partition and soaked the floor. There didn't seem to be any remedy for this and I could tell from the condition of the door jamb and sill that this is a regular occurrence. Really, you should fix that or expensive repairs will be needed.

Room tip: Needs more or better trained staff. Rooms good though.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We had a recent function in the Albert hotel with myself, my family and other guest staying in the Albert hotel, while the rooms and food were lovely this was far outweighed by the service and attitude of the staff. The organisational skills of the front desk are severely lacking and caused more than one problem with room bookings, which they eventually admitted was their mistake but failed to apologise for or for their attitude towards us while dealing with this. The manager was very hostile and on many occasions really quite rude, everything that was asked of her was quite obviously a bother and only done grudgingly if at all. This attitude has obviously rubbed of on the majority of her staff, the bar staff were extremely rude to some of our guest. The waitresses were sent out with everyone’s food not knowing what was going where despite the hotel specifically asking for a seating plan and a list of exactly who was having what, they did no refill the guests glasses with the wine provided obviously seeing that they would make more of a profit on single glasses being bought from the bar rather than getting the corkage from the wine that was intended to be used. Overall the hotel itself is lovely but I would definitely not recommend it for a place to stay or hold a function due to the staffs hostility towards guests.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank elsacarter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Centrally located in KIrkwall -- easy walking to attractions, shopping, and public transportation. My room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and had nice amenities (coffee, cookies!), but it was over one of the two bars and was very, very noisy until about 1 am on three different nights. If you go, ask to be as far from the bars as possible - distant rooms didn't have the problem I did. Their restaurant the "Neuk" had excellent food, but the service was awful. We waited over 50 minutes for food with no check-in by the wait staff. The food was great, though and everyone was pleasant.

Room tip: ask for a room far away from the two bars
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SarahCollinsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews