We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonavista Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonavista Guest House
Ranked #11 of 12 Lerwick B&B and Inns
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Place is a complete dump. I would not stay here again, even if i was payed. Total rip off.

Room Tip: Choose another guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

im just back from my 1st ever trip to the Shetlands which i thouroughly enjoyed ,i found this place ideal for my needs ,it was excellent on the pocket ,it was only 100 yards walk to the town centre and the bed was comfortable for a nice change in a B&B. A very well run establishment with a good old fashioned cooked breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alski3081961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lye
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

Stayed here for three nights during the 2010 Up-Helly A' celebration. The bonavista is connvenient for town, harbour and little beach yet it is in a quiet location. We had the front downstairs double room and there was no roadside noise . The room was airy, warm, clean and comfortable. I recommend the porridge for breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boarddoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I'm in two minds about this B&B. On the one hand we found it perfectly adequate insofar as it was quiet and convenient, but on the other it was lacking in a number of areas.

It is situated right in the centre of Lerwick, about 100 yards from the seafront so really handy for going out etc. in the evening. When we arrived our first sight was of some broken railings outside the house, which were held in place with string. Not the greatest first impression. Then there was no answer as we rang the doorbell. Eventually the door was answered by one of the other guests who let us in. The owner had left us keys and a note apologising for having to go out. Fair enough, you can't expect people to be in all the time.

This is an old building, in need of renovation although it looked as though the owner was in the process of doing it up. They have clearly put some effort into doing up the rooms recently. The beds, carpet, and shower room were all fairly new but it looks like everything has been done on the cheap. But the beds were extremely flimsy and creaked non-stop. The bathroom had clearly been built inside the existing room, but there was no window and no ventillation which I think accounted for the damp and mould growing on the ceiling. The glass in the window was also cracked, which doesn't make a good first impression.

As we discovered, the owner does not live on the premesis so it is empty at night and during most of the day. Whist we were there the front doors were also left unlocked meaning anyone could wander in should they wish to do so.

Breakfast was adequate but below average for a B&B I would say. The bacon and sausages were of the ultra-cheap variety. There is only a tiny car park, but that's not a problem as there is a large public one across the street and the TV in the rooms was brand new. There was also supposed to be Wi-Fi, but the owner didn't know the password for the network so we couldn't use it during the 3 days we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaron95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

east scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

This guest house is very central, you can easily walk to anywhere in Lerwick from here.
The rooms were warm and comfortable with small ensuite bathrooms and another bathroom in the corridor. Our beds were comfortable and the room was spotless. We were given a good supply of towels, tea and coffee, biscuits. etc. Nice TV with freeview channels.
The dining room was beautifully carpeted and decorated. Cooked breakfast was excellent with plenty other options to help yourself to.
The owner could not have been friendlier and would have done anything for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

This hotel needs much refurbishment. The room was dusty and the breakfast was not good. The room was cleaned only once during the week and this was only after complaining during breakfast time. The room or toilet was not cleaned again on the other days. Usually guest houses have a cleaning person coming to the room every day to clean it, add more coffee, clean cups, and change towels. I put a sign on the door for room service every morning (cleaning) but noone bother coming to the room. My towels have never been changed throughout the week eventhough I put them on the floor as they were dirty. Room was chilly, heating did not work and single glazing windows did not help. Radio and alarm clock had no battery and dust was covering it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UniversityPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.2 km away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 km away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 km away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.7 km away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 km away
Eddlewood Guest House
Eddlewood Guest House
#4 of 12 in Lerwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonavista Guest House

Property: Bonavista Guest House
Address: 26 Church Road, Lerwick, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bonavista Guest House Hotel Lerwick
Bonavista Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing