We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Dated but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Spent 3 days while working and found it ok. I thought it was a Best Western hotel? Breakfast was good and the bar was good with a decent steak pie.All in all would stay again but I was on expenses so unsure of the value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I firmly believe that the hotel offers great value for money in terms of accommodation and food. We are not affiliated with Best Western Hotels and we do not claim to be either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
9
33
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After a recent stay at the Queen's Hotel I had to write this review because I feel strongly about it. Upon my arrival I was greeted by friendly reception staff who were pleasant and helpful. The room I was given was nice, clean and well maintained apart from outdated decor. Had a good night sleep, nice and peaceful in a comfy bed. When going to breakfast the first morning there, I was served by a very surly individual who's overall mannerisms and lack of personal hygiene left a lot to be desired. First thing in the morning a smile wouldn't have gone a miss. When giving her my order she responded with a grunt and a sigh. Needless to say the said breakfast wasn't finished due to the odor and stale alcohol still hanging in the air. The food at the Queen's Hotel was average. Overall the hotel was reasonable, but let down by the said member of staff and her attitude.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJammy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments posted here. Whilst we try and train our staff to be personable we cannot monitor them every minute of the day. Your comments have been noted and the member of staff has been dealt with in the appropriate manner. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Food was good hotel staff need sorted out felt like they did not care but all in all good

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifftonheaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Better than its sister hotel The Grand because it is more up to date like the Grand really nice staff,clean and comfortable and food to die for

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Queens hotel in Lerwick is part of the KGQ group and is the better of the two hotels in the group (the other hotel being the 'Grand'). Having stayed at both hotels the Queens is certainly the better of the two. This hotel even provides bedrooms for smokers.
The menu was favourable and the food very acceptable although the waiting staff could do with being smartened up and told not to call their clients 'mate' when taking their order.
Rooms are OK with the usual extras. Broadband internet access is free.
The bar is not accessible directly from the hotel - you have to go outside and then back in next door to get a drink.
One major problem is parking - The nearest parking is a public car park 300 yards which can be a problem dragging your case uphill in the pouring rain.
Having used a number of hotels in Lerwick this is one I would return to.

Room Tip: If you smoke then just ask for a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cagey_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed for three nights. Our room was fine though a bit cramped but everything worked and the bathroom was clean. Our breakfasts were very good, we didn't eat in the restaurant but the meals provided in the small bar were excellent. In particular, the battered cod was good and one of us also enjoyed a tasty burger!

Staff were helpful and friendly. Reading previous reports, there was definitely NO musty damp smell when entering and following our stay, we would go there again and recommend friends.

We didn't take our car with us but as the hotel has no carpark and parking on the narrow surrounding roads is restricted - this might be a 'challenge' for guests with cars in high season with competition for spaces in the nearby public car parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Well, we were nervous about staying here after reading the previous reviews. Maybe we're not fussy types but although there's room for improvement we really enjoyed our stay.

The only quibbles were that the bathroom window could have done with a blind. The occupants in the yatchs in the marina would've been able to see us at night! We left the light off during any night time ablutions.

Also, the route to our ground floor room took us past some public loos the doors of which were rarely closed. Irritating but not disasterous.

The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. They looked like starters in an expensive restaurant.

The beds were also wonderfully cosy with cool
crisp cotton sheets and heavy, old fashioned blankets. Reminded me of my childhood before the days of the duvet arrived.

I mentioned all of the above in the feed-back form that's left in the room.

If you're the fussy precious type then it might not be for you but if you love hotels with character, personality and a strong sense of location then you should enjoy your stay. As did we.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.2 km away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 km away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 km away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 km away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 km away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 24 Commercial Street, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing