We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, it won’t be our last”

Miller & Carter Hinckley
Ranked #42 of 121 Restaurants in Hinckley
Price range: US$19 - US$39
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a busy Saturday night for the first time. The restaurant looks impressive inside and service at the bar was quick whilst we waited for our table (visited early for a pre meal drink, no delays on the booked table).
We were shown to the table and after a short time our waitress, Shannon, arrived, talked us through the menu and took our order.
The steaks we had were great and well cooked, mine in particular was a 50 day aged ribeye and melted in the mouth, the bordelaise sauce was also brilliant!
Throughout the night Shannon looked after us showing politeness and professionalism.
We returned to the bar after meals for a couple cocktails before heading home, again quick and professional service and the drinks were great and well made.
All in all a brilliant night, helped by exceptional staff all round!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank tudrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 150 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have eaten in the New Miller & Carter in as many weeks and not dissapointed on either occasion.
The atmosphere fabulous, the staff extremely attentive and curteous and the food hot, tasty and well presented.
The meatballs are a must!!!
Thank you for a lovely lunch and we're looking forward to our next visit...

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Bohica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Booked for partner and friend for Easter as a special treat . Had heard good things about the one in Birmingham so decided to give a go and thought the eager pricing would reflect in the experience.
Got there on time and table was not ready , waited in bar area which was cramped and served by one waitress only so took a while to get drinks.
Table was in a corner near a cold window and blocked in by a pillar which two of us had to squeeze by to get seated. Food was ok but barely warm , service was poor to no existent . Even the tea hadn't brewed due to the bag being in cold water.
The initial waitress disappeared after we complained about the mains being luke warm and wasn't seen again. Finally managed to get the attention of another waitress to complete our dining experience. If they hadn't took a card impression at the bar would have walked out there and then.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mervynm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Just got back from our first visit to a Miller & Carter. Had researched on the web site before and saw they had a set Sunday menu for £24.95 and checked it was available on Easter Sunday. nothing to say it wasn't, so off we went.
On arrival we were shown to a table and given 2 standard menus and a couple of drinks menu and advised that the waitress would be with us 'shortly'to take our drinks order. Guess what? We hadn't been given the Sunday set menu! After waiting about 10 mins before the waitress realised we were there ( in the meantime she'd served a table that came in after us) she came up and I asked for the set menu ". oh you want that one ? " she seemed surprised!.
Finally took our order after about a half hour wait and then starters ( sticky chicken) arrived quite quickly and was quite nice but nothing special.
We both ordered steaks and I asked for a baked potato instead of chips .When they arrived the food was lukewarm and although OK wasn't really anything special. Wasn't a fan of everything in separate pots and not keen on the iceburg lettuce wedge( would have preferred a few vegetables personally).
We asked for the dessert menu and once again had to ask for the set menu when the waitress brought the standard one.
Mentioned that it was a bit naughty not offering the Sunday set menu when we arrived and was told 'after a month of opening they decided no one wanted it! ' I suggested that they could still give people the choice to which she agreed !
All in all there's better places to eat in the area with better service so probably won't be going back soon!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jane_and_John_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Courteous service. Waitress was really helpful. Looked after us. Food very tasty. Not cheap, but enjoyed meal. Would definitely come here again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Hinckley also viewed

 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to Miller & Carter Hinckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing