We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Usual High Standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Usual High Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Holdsworth House Hotel is my preferred option when staying in this area.
I find the staff very considerate and helpful and go that extra bit to make the stay enjoyable.
Access is good with excellent parking.
Free wifi with good signal.
My meals have always been of a good standard.
Breakfast is good although, for my personal circumstances, it can be a bit slow.
Because I am a frequent patron, I have a particular room which I like and they always try and accommodate me in that room. Can't say better than that for service.
Overall, a first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remymartinlouisxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your very positive comments. We'll certainly mention your thoughts to the breakfast team for your next visit - it's always good to receive feedback so we can get as much right for every guest. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    155
    66
    28
    9
See reviews for
139
342
19
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed for friends wedding. Booked a double room and they would put in two z beds for our children. When we arrived we were up-graded to two rooms with adjoining door which was very unexpected and a lot more comfortable. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonandclair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hi JasonandClair1. Thank you for your review, we're glad you were happy with the service at Holdsworth House and we hope to see you again, perhaps for another wedding or for a leisure break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth House on the 3rd of March and I booked the Ultimate Proposal Package.

To put it simply, I can't believe the hotel don't promote this more.

The hotel has character, it looks terrific from both the inside and the outside.The room we had was spacious, clean and unusual being over two floors!

As part of the proposal package you get afternoon tea (which was lovely and she absolutely loved it, particularly with the crackling of the open fire), a manicure and a three course meal (off the a la carte menu) and on our package we also got the private use of the Gazebo. It was very romantic with a candle lit path guiding the way to the Gazebo. The meal was good quality, and the music and the champagne was spot on.

What really worked for me though was the service. Brad looked after us all day, including serving us in the Gazebo, he was very accommodating in terms of specific requests and he was friendly, attentive but not overly helpful. It was pitched very well.

I think for what you get it is very reasonably priced and given there was a wedding on at the same time the service levels were very high.

I couldn't recommend this enough for guys wanting to propose.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
WOW Paul A - Congratulations to you both! Thanks for your Tripadvisor review and your kind words. We've already sent the note on to Brad who is always fantastic with guests. We're so pleased it turned out to be everything you expected and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

free glass of wine on arrival, comfy bed, the best hotel pillows I've ever experienced, friendly staff, cosy bar, decent draught ael..... All in all just right - dinner was good but not great and breakfast ample and tasty. I'd stay here again a very decent hotel with a good dollop of olde worlde charm and subtle sophistication. Just a shame my wife wasn't with me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you got your discount voucher on check out to return with your wife! Please let us know what could have been better about your evening meal so that we can make sure everything is perfect on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well, what can we say of our experience of getting married at Holdsworth House Hotel on 17th Feb 2012? It is absolutely imperative that we took the time to really think about and ensured we covered all aspects of our experience for a fair and balanced review:

Location / Setting: Amazing – really easy to find, close to Halifax, M62, Bradford and Leeds – the house itself is beyond stunning. Gorgeous bedrooms (one of the best night sleep I’ve had in a long time, sumptuous duvets and pillows), stunning breakfast and entertaining rooms, lovely grounds, a real old world charm, simply wonderful.

Staff / Service: Incredible! Being a couple who plan projects and events for a living, we thought the team at Holdsworth would ‘have a job’ in keeping up with our requests, timetables etc – but – there was not one request that wasn’t met or surpassed and all with a genuine smile and a genuine desire to provide excellent customer service. It turns out they were never going to ‘have a job’ to keep us beyond happy. Claire, Brad, Freeda (to name only a few and genuinely sorry I can’t remember any more) constantly went above and beyond the normal limits of customer service, for this we cannot thank you enough (and will be up in the next week to see you all). Every single one of our guests commented on how attentive the team were, a true credit to the establishment.

Food & Drink: The bar was always fully stocked and very reasonable in price. The wine and fizz with our wedding breakfast was lovely, and always flowing. Now, the food….. simply restaurant quality. Now, as a hotel that has a restaurant people may not be surprised by this, but, when you are serving 80 people the same dish at once, the quality usually slips. But it didn’t, we have had endless compliments from our guests that ‘it is the best wedding food they have ever eaten’ and that ‘they would be happy had they received this in a restaurant’, Just perfect!

Wedding bits: as I said before, no request was too much and all done with a genuine smile. You very honestly would be hard pushed to find a venue as accommodating.

The staff and service, beautiful setting, superb food and drink all added to this being the happiest of our lives, but also one of the most memorable weddings that my family and friends have ever been to. We will always treasure our memories of the day and place.

Fondest and warmest regards from Daniel & Joseph Clark-Bland x

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wow! And Thank You!! Believe us, the team loved every minute as much as you and haven't stopped 'going on' about it! We've loved the designer touches you brought - simply divine styling. We wish you both all the happiness in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Friendly and relaxed staff in a lovely atmospheric building. Nice to be greeted with the offer of a glass of wine at check-in. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Restaurant is first class and the breakfast is certainly up there with the best of any hotel I know - buffet with fruit salad, stewed fruit, fresh fruit, cereals, juices - the usual (including croissants that are light and warm - not either over heated and dry or dense bricks as found in so many places), with cooked orders coming straight from the kitchen to your table.
Gardens are nice on summer evenings, open log fires in the restaurant and lounge in the winter.
I've stayed here many times whilst on business, on one occasion wife joining me to spend a weekend in this region - it's that sort of place.

Room Tip: The exec rooms are split level - small lounge/"snug" and bathroom downstairs, sleeping are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commuter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write your comments, it really makes a difference to the team who continually strive to give the best service they can. All the best, Holdsworth House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I recently stayed at Holdsworth House whilst on business. The staff are first class and very welcoming, the room was clean and very comforatble and the dining experience was exemplary - arguably the best food I have had on a trip away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Hello, and thank you for writing your review. The team are delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
17.2 km away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
6.8 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
24.2 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing