We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our fifth stay and once again we have had a great time.We booked the Anniversary Indulgence package and on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite. Fantastic food , great service , lovely place looking forward to our sixth visit soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSRHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hello and thank you for reviewing Holdsworth House on Tripadvisor. We're so pleased you had another enjoyable stay and that the Anniversary Indulgence exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Only stayed one night - arriving at 8pm and leaving at 8am for a business meeting. Will definitely make the effort to visit again, this time for leisure and to enjoy the facilities and lovely restaurant. I was very impressed with the high levels of genuine customer service from all members of staff.

Room Tip: Single rooms have very comfy three quarter beds and full ensuite bathrooms. Ask for a quietly situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Jan, thank you for your Holdsworth House Tripadvisor review, we are very grateful and also thrilled that you had such a great stay, despite it being short and sweet. Please do visit us again for a leisurely break when you can take in more of the sights, such as the inspiring Bronte Parsonage Museum at Haworth,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at Holdsworth House for a couple of nights in February with friends.
We all thought that the hotel was superb,we ate in the restaurant both evenings & had a really good meal .
The general ambience was very good with enormous character in the 17th century public rooms whilst the modern bedrooms were very well equipped.
We will certainly return when we visit this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear GHSR, thank you for your wonderful comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Yorkshire and Holdsworth House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Loved this hotel, it was very cozy and the staff were really friendly. Loved the log fire and the old country house style. Food was also amazing and loved the little touches, a glass of wine on arrival :-) Keep up the good work....will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstieB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review, the team is really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you booking with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Holdsworth House Hotel is my preferred option when staying in this area.
I find the staff very considerate and helpful and go that extra bit to make the stay enjoyable.
Access is good with excellent parking.
Free wifi with good signal.
My meals have always been of a good standard.
Breakfast is good although, for my personal circumstances, it can be a bit slow.
Because I am a frequent patron, I have a particular room which I like and they always try and accommodate me in that room. Can't say better than that for service.
Overall, a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remymartinlouisxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your very positive comments. We'll certainly mention your thoughts to the breakfast team for your next visit - it's always good to receive feedback so we can get as much right for every guest. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed for friends wedding. Booked a double room and they would put in two z beds for our children. When we arrived we were up-graded to two rooms with adjoining door which was very unexpected and a lot more comfortable. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonandclair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Hi JasonandClair1. Thank you for your review, we're glad you were happy with the service at Holdsworth House and we hope to see you again, perhaps for another wedding or for a leisure break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth House on the 3rd of March and I booked the Ultimate Proposal Package.

To put it simply, I can't believe the hotel don't promote this more.

The hotel has character, it looks terrific from both the inside and the outside.The room we had was spacious, clean and unusual being over two floors!

As part of the proposal package you get afternoon tea (which was lovely and she absolutely loved it, particularly with the crackling of the open fire), a manicure and a three course meal (off the a la carte menu) and on our package we also got the private use of the Gazebo. It was very romantic with a candle lit path guiding the way to the Gazebo. The meal was good quality, and the music and the champagne was spot on.

What really worked for me though was the service. Brad looked after us all day, including serving us in the Gazebo, he was very accommodating in terms of specific requests and he was friendly, attentive but not overly helpful. It was pitched very well.

I think for what you get it is very reasonably priced and given there was a wedding on at the same time the service levels were very high.

I couldn't recommend this enough for guys wanting to propose.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

WOW Paul A - Congratulations to you both! Thanks for your Tripadvisor review and your kind words. We've already sent the note on to Brad who is always fantastic with guests. We're so pleased it turned out to be everything you expected and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
5.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
392 reviews
3.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
4.3 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
321 reviews
3.4 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
9.2 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $148 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing