We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steven and Nicola Chicken's Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steven and Nicola Chicken's Wedding”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Holdsworth House is a beautiful building with the quaintness of the countryside and a good ol' English aesthetic. The food was incredible and the service was superior. The bedroom was also amazing, with a brilliant bathroom which is always a bonus! Me and my girlfriend loved the whole day spent here at Holdsworth House and would like thank them for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying at Holdsworth House whilst attending the wedding. We pride ourselves on great food so we're thrilled you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon, please do join our mailing list so we can send you the latest offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    171
    73
    30
    11
See reviews for
153
388
20
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed many times before and in suites a couple of times now. This one was very nice, bed up stairs and small
Sitting area downstairs with chocolates and Champagne waiting for us.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fysmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to write your review. It seems you are working your way round our entire range of rooms and Suites! Of course we very much appreciate it every time you choose Holdsworth House for your Halifax stay, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our fifth stay and once again we have had a great time.We booked the Anniversary Indulgence package and on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite. Fantastic food , great service , lovely place looking forward to our sixth visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSRHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hello and thank you for reviewing Holdsworth House on Tripadvisor. We're so pleased you had another enjoyable stay and that the Anniversary Indulgence exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Only stayed one night - arriving at 8pm and leaving at 8am for a business meeting. Will definitely make the effort to visit again, this time for leisure and to enjoy the facilities and lovely restaurant. I was very impressed with the high levels of genuine customer service from all members of staff.

Room Tip: Single rooms have very comfy three quarter beds and full ensuite bathrooms. Ask for a quietly situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Jan, thank you for your Holdsworth House Tripadvisor review, we are very grateful and also thrilled that you had such a great stay, despite it being short and sweet. Please do visit us again for a leisurely break when you can take in more of the sights, such as the inspiring Bronte Parsonage Museum at Haworth,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at Holdsworth House for a couple of nights in February with friends.
We all thought that the hotel was superb,we ate in the restaurant both evenings & had a really good meal .
The general ambience was very good with enormous character in the 17th century public rooms whilst the modern bedrooms were very well equipped.
We will certainly return when we visit this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear GHSR, thank you for your wonderful comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Yorkshire and Holdsworth House again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Loved this hotel, it was very cozy and the staff were really friendly. Loved the log fire and the old country house style. Food was also amazing and loved the little touches, a glass of wine on arrival :-) Keep up the good work....will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstieB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review, the team is really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you booking with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Holdsworth House Hotel is my preferred option when staying in this area.
I find the staff very considerate and helpful and go that extra bit to make the stay enjoyable.
Access is good with excellent parking.
Free wifi with good signal.
My meals have always been of a good standard.
Breakfast is good although, for my personal circumstances, it can be a bit slow.
Because I am a frequent patron, I have a particular room which I like and they always try and accommodate me in that room. Can't say better than that for service.
Overall, a first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remymartinlouisxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your very positive comments. We'll certainly mention your thoughts to the breakfast team for your next visit - it's always good to receive feedback so we can get as much right for every guest. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
374 reviews
6.8 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
9.2 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
382 reviews
3.4 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing