We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
117
53
35
30
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
53
35
30
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelson bar sunday lunch beef wellington lovely hotel breakfast room nice breakfast twin room visit great yarmouth cooked to perfection lovely room my mum town centre full english sonya lounge
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 271 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We enjoyed our stay. The refurbished room was excellent, breakfast very good as was service. Unfortunately I now use a wheelchair so climbing the stairs to the third floor was difficult. There are no rooms on first floor and no rooms available on second floor.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank patdarwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Lucky to have a view of the river from our 3rd floor room. Room was fabulous - great size, lovely bathroom, tea making facilities and a large TV. bar prices reasonable but a few odd people put us off sitting in the bar - too loud and unnecessary bad language. Breakfast was added as an extra to my booking (a mistake I put down to the booking agent) but was a nice breakfast - a view of the river again from the breakfast room. lift wasn't working so if I booked again I'd hope its been repaired as 3 floors was very tiring for me and my dodgy knee . The refurbishment is lovely so I hope they do very well. nice stay in very nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank winklepinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at The Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Many thanks for your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies for your visit to Nelsons Bar, it is generally a fun and friendly place.
Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Lovely hotel, country house feel inside, nicely refurbished bedrooms. Free car park at rear though very tight. Disabled access very good with a lift to all floors. A nice stroll of around 15minutes to the beach, only let us the view from the side room windows however the hotel, staff and price more than makes up for that

Room Tip: Only the front facing rooms have views of the quays the other rooms have no views really
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 100deanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Well what can I say, had the most wonderful evening tonight at the Star Hotel Great Yarmouth with our dear mates Pauline and Roy for their golden wedding anniversary.. the food was excellent and thank you so much to all the staff including, Adrian manager, Grant head chef and Alex on her first night. You all made it so perfect and we could not fault it.. thank you all so much... will be back.. to visit this restaurant ...and hotel is well worth a visit...also the menu is changed every few weeks etc..xxx

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Well after reading reviews on there site thought would go for a meal . What lovely staff lady in bar, to the chef and the young waiter, chef very helpful with me over the taste of Brie brought it out to me to try as not sure I would like it on my fish which I did . The room was so cosy with view would not hesitate to come back and we have booked high tea Friday so looking forward to that as well thank you yo all the staff

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank deborahc441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews