We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holmhill house May Bank Holiday 2012”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmhill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmhill House
Drawing room Drawing room photo 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Holmhill House
Drawing room
Drawing room photo 2
Dining room
Dining room photo 2
Snug
Snug photo 2
Games room
Games room photo 2
Kitchen
Kitchen photo 2
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen dining area photo 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom photo 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 8
Garden from master bedroom balcony
Garden
View from the balcony in Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mon65
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holmhill house May Bank Holiday 2012”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the house for our annual trip away, 13 adults and 2 children in all. The house fitted our criteria perfectly with a big kitchen, big dining room and sitting room for the adults and a seperate TV room and a games room for the kids. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook a meal for all on the first night and the dining room sat us all comfortably. Not all the rooms are ensuite but if you are family or long standing friends this is not a challange and the attic space is perfect with two rooms sharing a lovely bathroom. It was really nice to come in from a walk, light the coal fire and relax in the sitting room before heading out. Good area as well with a few really good restaurants and some nice walks for all levels of fitness. Would recomend this highly.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2012
Thank you very much for our first review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Holmhill and that the house suited your needs. We'd love to welcome you all back in the future.
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doome
Sevenoaks
1 review
“Informative, welcoming and relaxed hosts, lovely house & spacious room, good breakfast, central location to tour area!”
Reviewed June 18, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Mel and Mike were lovely hosts The house itself had a lovely feel, very homely and beautifully decorated. We had the Honeymoon Suite (!) as we were alone there - we timed it right as it had been full the week before and it was to be shortly after! The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, quiet location so you will get a good night's sleep.

The choice at breakfast was excellent - Mel even arranged kippers for me as a special request! Nothing was too much bother and both gave us good advice on eateries and places to visit in the area. Excellent location to tour the area - visited the coast, Balmoral, Culloden - so much to see.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette27
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

We stayed here for 3 days & found it a very pleasant, comfortable place to stay. Mel & Mike were great hosts - very welcoming & friendly & their knowledge of the area was wonderful. They went out of their way to give us advice on how to get to places & even looked up opening times for some on the internet. Our room was so big & really nicely decorated - it was lovely to have so much space to spread out. The room was made up daily, bathroom done & tea, coffee & shortbreads replenished. The heating worked well & soap & shampoo was provided. Breakfast was very good with more food offered if you wanted. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area, it would be like visiting old friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catmoo
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - great location”
Reviewed June 5, 2009 for a stay in May 2009

We stayed with Mike and Mel at Holmhill House in May 2009 with our friends (another couple) for 3 nights. (We are in our late 20's/early 30's). We love walking and Holmhill House was a great base to explore the Cairngorms and Speyside. They views from the rooms we had were superb!

I won't repeat what others have said recently about this Guest House because we agree with everything that has been written. Generally, and on the whole, excellent customer service, great food and a warm welcome when you arrive with tea and shortbread provided by Mel.

We also brought our own wine which Mike and Mel happily chilled for us in their fridge. They also offer a packed lunch service for walkers etc, although we didn't request this.

We love scottish culture and really enjoyed a night at The Craig bar just down the road. They only sell speciality pies with chips and peas/beans, so if you want variety, (other than the selection of flavours on offer) this isn't your place to eat. As it happens, we love pies, so great for us. It was a great meeting place where locals come along and bring instruments and play traditional scottish music into the night.

Mike and Mel are great hosts and we will definitely return and recommend them to all our friends and family! We loved relaxing in the guest lounge and felt right at home! Well done MIke and Mel!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeedaSeav...
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

After a long drive, Mel welcomed us warmly and invited us to sit down with biscuits and a pot of fresh tea. This was the perfect start to a relaxing and very comfortable stay. Our comfortable en-suite room was spacious and and tastefully decorated. Patio windows opened on to a private balcony, which gave us views towards the Cairngorm mountains. Every night we had a perfect nights sleep.

Mel and Mike were the perfect hosts, who wanted to ensure that we were comfortable. When going out for a day's hillwalking on a cold day, Mel made us a flask of hot fresh coffee. Each morning we were served with a tasty and filling breakfast.

Holmhill is located on a quiet street, but is only a 5 min walk from Grantown's main street.

This all meant for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We will be coming back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipmeist...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“How relaxing can you get!”
Reviewed February 27, 2009 for a stay in February 2009

Stayed with our 4 kids over Feb half term and would recommend it without hesitation. Warm, spacious, fabulous breakfasts, wonderful hosts in Mel and Mike, great if you want to ski as close Aviemore and Lecht, without being a ski town, half an hour north to great beaches (try between Findhorn and Burghead, especially the woods near the latter), spent the evenings playing games and dozing in front of the log fire (a rare treat!). It's an expensive way of travelling as had to eat out all the time, but Mel would more than happily let us bring fish and chips, sandwich stuff etc. back to use in the dining room. Just great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savinis
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A treat!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2008 for a stay in August 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 6 learned of Holmhill via Wilderness Scotland. The hospitality extended by Mike and Mel (proprietors) is outstanding. Mike and Mel are very warm-hearted, kind people who welcome you into their beautiful home and treat you better than family. The home itself is historic and the gardens are lovely. The location of this exceptional B&B is a short walk to Grantowns Main Street which has several restaurants, pubs, market, shopping, etc. This B&B is tastefully decorated without being stodgy. It even has a playroom should you be traveling with young children, as we did. It's comfortable and as inviting as its owners. Should you find yourself in this sweet little secret of a town do yourself the favor of booking your rooms here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The service
Liked least: we didn't stay long enough
Visit was for: Hobbies / interest / culture
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing