We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmhill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmhill House
Drawing room Drawing room photo 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Holmhill House
Drawing room
Drawing room photo 2
Dining room
Dining room photo 2
Snug
Snug photo 2
Games room
Games room photo 2
Kitchen
Kitchen photo 2
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen dining area photo 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom photo 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 8
Garden from master bedroom balcony
Garden
View from the balcony in Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz M
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing week in this beautiful house to celebrate my Husband's 50th and Brother-in-Law's 40th birthdays and can only echo the previous rave reviews and comments about Holmhill! As a party of 11 adults (including my 2 teens of 19 & 16), my 2 yr old toddler nephew and my chocolate lab furry nephew - the house provided us all with fantastic social spaces to be together as a group, and also more than enough bedrooms/bathrooms to provide comfort, space and privacy for some independent down-time!
The dining room is a huge and perfect space to enjoy a special meal, easily prepared in the spacious and amazingly well-stocked kitchen - as a keen amateur cook I was in my element! For lazy nights in, there are several take-away options a few minutes walk away that still feel special when you eat them in that lovely room!
WIFI and SKY tv were both definite crowd-pleasers, the snooker table in the games room seen plenty of action in the evenings, leaving the girls to enjoy a movie and glass of wine in the cosy tv room. The gorgeous front room was our party space where we played music, danced, had our quiz night and generally enjoyed quality family time together.
The whole house is immaculate, bedrooms are spacious with very comfy beds/quality bedding and bathrooms are spotless with luxurious towels.
There is also a lift available which proved to be invaluable for my Dad, who suffers from MG and has fairly limited mobility. I hadn't mentioned this to Lisa when I made our booking, as he likes to be as mobile as possible, however he was struggling after a day or so and both Lisa and Judy were fantastic in ensuring that the lift was fully operational for him to use immediately - thank you so much for that!
The outside space was great for my 2 nephews to run around in the fresh air and easily accommodated our 4 cars being parked there. Although our weather was good for the time of year, being April it wasn't quite warm enough to sit outside, but in warmer months the gardens would be a great place to soak up the sun and enjoy the glorious views. My sister also recommended fantastic woodland walks just down from the house where the dog was in his element.
Grantown is a lovely wee place with very friendly people and some quaint independent shops - The Elephant in the Pantry was a particular favourite for the sweet tooths in our family! We enjoyed pies at the Craig Bar and then went to the Monday night bingo at the British Legion - which was great fun - think we were a noisy, but welcome addition to their regular proceedings! There are so many places to visit and activities to enjoy using Holmhill as a base, depending on your preference - as a group ranging from 2 - 72 years, we generally went out for a few hours to Nairn, Carrbridge and Inverness then enjoyed the comfort and facilities of "home" in the evening.
Honestly could go on for ever about how fantastic this house is and what a great time we had there from start to finish. Lisa made the booking process simple and was very quick to respond to my queries. Judy the housekeeper was very friendly and welcoming on our arrival - the scones went down a treat, thank you - and nothing was too much trouble for her, thank you both!
In conclusion, cannot recommend this property highly enough - it's something very special and made our "boys" birthday celebrations even more so - we'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Wow! What can we say? We are over the moon. What a wonderful review. We are delighted that you all had such a terrific time at Holmhill. Your kind words show that it really does work for all ages. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We really really do appreciate it. Lisa & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magsB
glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This house is fabulous! In fact fabulous doesn't do it justice!!! It is set in the village and so is handy for the shops, pubs etc. The house is fantastically appointed with everything you could need for a family break. We stayed here while skiing at aviemore and would definitely book it again. It was easy to book and the owner was very helpful. The bedrooms are gorgeous and the beds extremely comfortable. We had a brilliant time and the weather was first class too. Excellent!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic sitting room with it's real fire.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We very much appreciate it! We're so glad you had a great time and we love it when our guests love the house as much as we do.
Lisa & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crd70
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a stay with a large group of Friends & Family”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Huge property, fantastic for entertaining. The best equipped Kitchen you could ask for.
The owner arranged for a cook one evening, providing an absolutely first class meal (superb Smoked salmon & Venison). Dining table would comfortably seat 14 + diners. Although the town of Grantown on Spey has moderate appeal, the house is a great base for exploring the Highlands. We ate at the Craig Bar (pies and very friendly, if eccentric landlord), also No 7 Bistro, which was pleasant and reasonable food. We visited the Glenfiddich Distillery (excellent tour, by an Englishman in a kilt), Took the railway to the top of Aviemore, a drive out to Loch Ness and found a great Italian café (Little Italy in Inverness). Spent too many hours on the pool table. Great place, excellent communications from Lisa, the owner. Overall couldn't have been much better, even in a blustery, damp December.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for your great review. We do really appreciate you taking the time to write one. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Holmhill
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base to explore Speyside”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely, and very large house. Traditional but with all mod cons. Centrally located and easy access to all that Speyside has to offer. Spotlessly clean and well provisioned bedrooms and bathrooms. A great place to entertain a large group, with spacious living, dining and reception rooms - cosy fireplace in living room. Plus a snooker room !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jac870
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic Easter break with family. All you could want from Victorian splendour to
all mod cons. Stunning views of the Cairngorms from balcony. Weather, fishing,
walking superb. Cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
482KerryD
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Eleven family members stayed at this beautiful family home. We received a very warm welcome from Judy the housekeeper, she had baked us home made scones to have with our afternoon coffee, they were lovely. The house is very well equipped and the decor is lovely. There are numerous bathrooms and beautiful bedrooms with balconies with lovely views. The lounge is so big and the men enjoyed the tv room and the games room. We also enjoyed sitting out in the terrace enjoying the autumn sun. Great location! Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is very important to us that our guests enjoy Holmhill as much as we do so it's lovely to get such positive feedback.
We couldn't do it without Judy and her scones are gorgeous!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D2Mum
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Granton is the perfect spot, and Holmhill House was a superb location, and home. The caretaker Judy is a star, and greeted us warmly and responded to our many queries with promptness. The house is lovely, and while it was larger than we needed (we did not use the upper level of rooms), I can only sing it's praises. My boys enjoyed the grounds (and a very friendly neighbor cat), and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The massive kitchen had everything we needed. The boys also enjoyed the well stocked games cupboard. I would highly recommend this lovely spot to all. Easy walking distance to town, and the perfect spot to head out to see the gorgeous area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort & location
Liked least: the WiFi only worked well on the ground floor
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday and Holmhill lived up to expectations. Judy is indeed a star!
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing