We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wee B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at Westhaven. The owners were fantastic and very helpful.
The only reason the room scored 4 was due a little noise transfer from the room below, but that quietened down at 10pm, the bed was too soft for my liking (like I say only minor gripes) and the lack of a second single bed (camp bed used instead) for our other child. All in all a great wee B&B. If we are in the area we will here stay again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slainte_Mhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Booked this b&b afterlooking at the reviews here and I wasnot disappointed .
Very homely , immaculate and an excellent stay . Val and sandy were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help .
A must consider if holidaying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gparson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived with a lousy weather, lots of rain, but as we entered, the warm welcome of the owners made us forget those conditions outside. It was much better than I antecipated when I booked the room (and I really was expecting to be good!...). The owners are superb hosts and make you feel like part of their own family. Great experience. Great breakfast. Spotless cleaning. Definitely a place to be back in a next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hélder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at Westhaven & must concur with all the previous reviews. The rooms are immaculately prepared upon arrival, with lovely clean, fresh smelling bedlinen & towels, a spotless bathroom & a very warm welcome by the owners, Sandy & Val.
Sandy & Val made us feel instantly at home by offering us a nice cool drink, just the job after the long drive up here.
We, again, stayed in the ground floor room, which although the bathroom is across a private corridor, has the best facilities, i.e. a proper whirlpool bath & a stand up steam shower with a built in stereo. Pure luxury!
Breakfast the following morning was sheer heaven, eggs, (any style you like), bacon, lorne sausage, black pudding, tomatoes plus cereals, toast, fruit, tea, coffee, all superbly cooked by Val. Bliss!
Following on from breakfast, a trip to the river spey ensued, & after a brief recap on the casting techniques by Sandy, we hit the river. Salmon fishing is notoriouly hard & we failed to catch one but we were able to catch a fine specimen of a sea trout. This was kindly smoked by Sandy, frozen & then we took it home with us.
Sandy & Val were excellent host's, interacting between all their guest's, offering them help & guidance on days out, amusing their children & above all, seeming to enjoy doing this.
Westhaven do not do evening meals but Grantown has a varied selection of resturants & takeaways on hand, & the Claymore bar allows customers to bring takeaways into the bar for consumption.
All in all, Sandy & Val offer excellent facilities, a wealth of local knowledge &, above all, a very warm & hospitable welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Would highly recomend this B&B to anyone travelling to Grantown on Spey. The room was well equipped and comfortable, with tasteful decor and nice touches e.g. his and hers robes. The private bathroom was astonishing... a huge room, massive, with a corner jacuzzi bath, twin shower cabinet with all the mod-cons (radio, steam facility, foot massager) - brilliant!

The building itself was modern, clean and had plenty of information for tourists about the local area. It was a little hard to see the sign, it sits back from the road, with access between two other buildings.

Val (the owner) was lovely. She knows the trade inside out and makes all her guests feel very welcome and at home. She cooks a mean breakfast too, with plenty of options and flexibility for requests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bohemianchick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

friendly welcome. large comfortable room. en-suite had a dual shower steam cabin. king sized bed. lots to choose for breakfast. kept you going for hours.

Room Tip: ask for the anagach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just to add to the positive reviews. We stayed for the weekend in a triple room, which was spacious and had a very nice en suite shower room. Room was clean, tidy and all you need for a weekend away. Made to feel very welcome and arranging an early breakfast for one of the mornings was no trouble.
Location is excellent for exploring the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.2 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
1.0 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
682 reviews
0.5 km away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
318 reviews
1.0 km away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#12 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
55 reviews
0.6 km away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhaven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhaven Bed & Breakfast

Address: Westhaven South Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $129 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westhaven Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and a warm welcome to you from Sandy and Val here at Westhaven B&B. We appreciate the trust you have put in us and we are fully committed to making sure that you enjoy your stay here in Grantown-on-Spey. Westhaven is situated in a quiet location close to the town centre, overlooking the Golf Course and Anagach Woods with a magnificent view to the Hills of Cromdale. Westhaven is convenient for the many amenities to be found in the Square and the High Street of Grantown-on-Spey. The Property has recently been refurbished to the highest of standards and offers spacious comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westhaven Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing