We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrew P

Fantastic Guest House fabulous hosts

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
If you want first class accommodation with first class hosts then book your stay at the Elton guest house.
This was our second stay with the hosts Jean and Shaun staying this time for 10 nights and we loved every minute of it.
Jean and Shaun are so friendly and always go the extra mile to make your stay more comfortable literary nothing is too much trouble, the guest house is quiet, immaculately clean, tidy and beautifully decorated throughout it has a separate lounge with tv, books, games etc and also a dedicated room with a full size pool table ( free to play ), and also a match play darts board.
The fried breakfasts cooked by Shaun are consistently delicious there is also a help yourself area in the dining room with a varied choice of juices, cereals, fresh fruits and yogurt.
The guest house is perfectly located and is considered the gateway to all areas of Cumbria, just a short walk into the town approximately 3 minutes from the guest house brings you to all the shops, cafes, takeaways, restaurants and pubs etc and to top it all off it has a beautiful promenade for evening walks with fantastic views of Arnside and Morecambe bay.
Thank you both for another fabulous stay, we hope to see you again very soon,
Andy and Elaine Powell x ( room 4 )
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thankyou so much for the review , so kind of you. We love having you here and we look forward to you visiting again, hopefully soon.
Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$182
C$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
0.9 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Room service
C$288
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$164
C$148
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$148
5.2 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$155
  • Expedia.com
    C$160
0.1 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
0.3 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$183
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
0.7 km from Elton Guest House
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$114
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    C$195
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.3 km from Elton Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
225
6
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
225
6
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts guest lounge bus stop top floor full english lovely breakfast nothing too much trouble enjoyed our stay lovely couple night stay a lovely stay every morning stayed here for nights min walk tea and coffee making facilities lovely room night's sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 236 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2024

What a gem! Stayed two nights fantastic hosts. Rooms beautifully decorated and spotless . Added bonus of a lovely lounge where you can relax. Breakfast was fantastic a wonderful choice. Extra large double bed, and lovely hot shower. We will definitely return, and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi thankyou for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon. Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2024 via mobile

We have just stayed for 2 nights seeing family and going to Cartmel races.
Jean and Shaun are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is amazing and the room is lovely. We have been 3 times now and will continue to come. Can highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi thankyou for taking the time to write a review. we are so glad you came back and enjoyed your stay. we look forward to your next visit. Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2024

We stayed here this weekend and I can highly recommended staying here. Jean went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect and the room was perfect. The breakfast was amazing and we will definitely come back to stay in the furture. Thank you

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for the kind review. we do try our very best to make our guest holidays the best we can. we love getting feed back that you have enjoy Grange and this area . Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2024

Ten of us stayed at Grange over Sands for a family wedding and were lucky to have chosen Elton Guest House for our accommodation for the weekend. Jean and Shaun are the perfect hosts: welcoming, friendly and generous. The accommodation is immaculately clean, well furnished and comfortable with excellent showers. Jean and Shaun cook breakfast to order and it’s better than any we’ve eaten in 4 star hotels. The communal lounge is comfortable and welcoming, and the garden is beautiful and a sun trap. The guest house is a short walk to pretty gardens, the promenade and the shops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to return. Thank you, Jean and Shaun.

Room tip: Don’t hesitate to stay!
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely review, we were please you picked the Elton guest house it was a lovely atmosphere you all been here i hope you will return to stay again . Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2024

Brilliant hosts, immaculate facilities, great location, and a super breakfast perfectly cooked. Added bonus guests can enjoy the beautiful private gardens and the new billiards/darts room. Attractive shops, the Ornamental Gardens and a long promenade overlooking Morecambe bay are all located close by. Super venue and we are looking forward to the next visit. Thank you so much Jean and Shaun.

Room tip: Make use of the lovely private garden at the rear, with a nice pot of tea.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Postlethwaite, Owner at Elton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will return again soon Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews