We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jackie M
Liverpool, United Kingdom

Lovely Relaxing Break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 3, 2024
Have just returned from a two-night break. Angelina took our booking over the phone and was a pleasure to speak with, very friendly and professional.

We had to book a Swiss-style lodge, as these are the only ones on site that are pet friendly and we were allocated 'Elm' on arrival, which is quite close to the hotel. The cabin was superb, nicely furnished, and felt very cosy, with a good sized kitchen with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable too and we slept really well.

The hotel restaurant does a takeaway service for guests and so we got takeaway fish and chips one night to save us cooking, and it was excellent. We also had a very good breakfast at the hotel on checkout day and they even brought an extra sausage for our dog! We had such a lovely and relaxing couple of days and wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$183
C$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$160
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
    C$160
3.1 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$176
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$176
2.9 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$289
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.1 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$148
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$148
  • Agoda.com
    C$148
  • Vio.com
    C$148
5.2 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$185
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
  • Agoda.com
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$185
2.5 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free parking
Restaurant
C$161
  • Vio.com
    C$161
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$161
  • Agoda.com
    C$161
6.0 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe Double
C$196
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$196
  • eDreams
    C$196
  • Vio.com
    C$196
6.0 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside area.
C$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$193
  • Agoda.com
    C$193
  • eDreams
    C$193
9.5 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free parking
Restaurant
C$164
C$148
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$148
8.2 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$371
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
3.4 km from Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
231
66
14
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
231
66
14
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and jacuzzi lovely lodge dishwasher tablets self catering quiet location south lakes a lovely stay minute drive stayed for nights on site dog angelina break woods accommodation windermere iron
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 329 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2024 via mobile

Came for Mother’s Day lunch and Easter Sunday lunch. Both times the food was excellent and a great price.
Also had Valentines evening meal with discounted bottle of Prosecco which was also excellent.
Have been for Xmas lunches in the past and never been disappointed.
Great fish and chips on regular evening menu as well as other choices.
Looking forward to a possible regular Sunday lunch offering if they go ahead with it.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cazhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2024

We stayed in one of the lodges which was clean, warm and well equipped. Even had a sauna. Can’t find fault with anything. Hotel meal we had was very good. Staff all very friendly and helpful. A quiet location away from any main roads. Great place to act as your base to explore the southern Lake District.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2024

Just spent two blissful weeks in this gem of a place. Peaceful,relaxing,accommodation. It's fantastic for dog owners who want to take their fur babies away. Stayed in a nordic lodge had everything we needed.The plus factor for the lodges is there is a secure gate to keep dogs (or children) safe. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Woodlands.
I have been to 'dog friendly' accommodation before but this is the best.
Thanks for a great stay,I'll be back soon!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank B5938UHjanetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2024

Absolutely love this place.Beautiful,quiet,but very close to Grange,Kendal,Bowness etc.Staff welcoming and helpful.Stayed in one of the older Lodges,which we love.Cant wait to come back when the weather warms up.Come here at least twice a year.The owner also deserves a mention...friendly,accomodating and an absolute gentleman.Cant recommend this little gem of place enough

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joannewS6588QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024

We held our wedding celebrations here over three nights in February. Our guests stayed in both the lodges and the hotel. Everyone was extremely happy with the accommodation and the food during the stay. Focussing on the wedding reception itself, it truly was such a perfectly executed operation. From the initial planing, to the decoration, the quality and appearance of the food, the amazing staff and the lovely venue. We could not have wished for better. The amount of effort and dedication that Angelina, Peter, Liam and the rest of the team put into the event was outstanding. At a time that is extremely stressful, it was reassuring to have our celebrations in such safe hands. If you are looking for somewhere to hold any kind of celebration, I would 100% recommend the Woodlands.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews