We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Suzanne S

Wonderful stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 20, 2022
We have just returned from a 1 night stay bed breakfast and dinner excellent price and the food was outstanding. The hotel is lovely old worlde and lovely decorated for Christmas room and all hotel areas we found to be spotless I highly recommend the neverwood we will definitely return
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$288
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$147
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$147
  • Agoda.com
    C$148
  • eDreams
    C$147
1.9 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$184
  • Priceline
    C$204
  • Agoda.com
    C$170
  • Expedia.com
    C$184
0.9 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
C$160
  • Vio.com
    C$160
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$160
  • Agoda.com
    C$160
3.0 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe Double
C$195
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$195
  • eDreams
    C$195
  • Vio.com
    C$195
3.0 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$369
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$165
C$148
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$148
4.9 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Outside area.
C$192
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$192
  • Agoda.com
    C$192
  • eDreams
    C$192
11.1 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$174
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hampsfell House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
226
85
24
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
226
85
24
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 340 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2021

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Hampsfell House Hotel. Everything was perfect, beautiful old fashioned charm hotel ,delicious food and a lovely welcoming family. We left two very happy ladies. Thank you so much

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 17, 2021

a really first class lunch,,,,but a chilly welcome..service by a waiter looked bored...we were upset by the standard of service today after such strong recomendations...on speaking to the owner she said they were busy,,,,,we were the first people in...oh then covid,,,,i do understand what the industry is going through....but a smile or communication would be nice

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffreyh173
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rose coote, Owner at Hampsfell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We were horrified to hear of your experience and have now implemented the following measures:-

*Smiles will be drawn on to all masks

*Rigorous training will be undertaken by all staff in smizing (smiling with your eyes when you cant see someone's mouth because they are wearing a mask!!)

*Our tickle stick has been dusted off and will be used on any bored or unhappy looking staff members!!!

*Trouser pockets will be sown up !!!! (to ensure no slouching)

We are hoping that these measures will prevent this occurrence from happening again?
Many thanks for cheering us up in these very depressing time Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2021

We stayed for two nights 17th 18th October. Grange over sands is a lovely unspoilt town. The centre has everything you would expect in a Cumbrian town without the queues.
There are some lovely walks including Hampsfell. and if you stay at Hampsfell house hotel you're already halfway up the hill!
The hotel is lovely, the rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable . Breakfast was huge and delicious. and they have veggie options as well. We ate there one of the nights and the food was excellent and well priced.
Everyone was helpful and friendly, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room tip: I think all the rooms were of a similar style. Its very quiet as not near a main road
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anneeliz372
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 12, 2021 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights with our dog. We were made so welcome. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and a great place to sit with a glass of wine - we were very lucky with the weather! This hotel is very dog friendly which was great as this was our first trip away with our dog Poppy. We ate both evenings in the hotel bar and the food was excellent. We will definitely be booking again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 66bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2021 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on our walk today, beautiful gardens, lovely place to eat and even made something off menu for my son to eat, great coffee and ice cream to! Will 100% be back. We also ordered take away meals over the last 18months, during lock down, they were fantastic! Really beautiful food and incredible value! Thank you!

Room tip: 100% worth the walk from the main town and up to the hotel, it’s about a 10min walk from the main shopping area.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews