We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
81
81
44
34
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
81
44
34
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool kents bank train station towels provided self catering lodges log cabin washing up liquid tea making facilities on arrival faded grandeur lovely grounds double bed buffet style enjoyed our stay stayed for nights porridge evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 277 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Wow what an amazing place. Beautiful grounds, lovely buildings, swimming pool and what has to be the best cooked breakfast I've ever eaten. Was slightly apprehensive as it's a Christian establishment but that soon disappeared. Very welcoming and spotlessly clean. Amazing value for money and right next to the train station but cannot hear trains from the room we stayed in. Would heartily recommend to anybody.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Very quite and beautiful view from our log cabin. Very friendly staff and good location to drive to many places.
Only downside we found was flushing the toilet. It had been a hit and miss and sometimes it took a few attempts to flush because enough water didn't seem to come out

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyokoR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

It's our final evening in one of the lodges here. The lodge is spotless and very well set out, everything has been thought of, from washing up liquid, bin bags to iron, hairdryer and everything you would need. It is roomy, warm and in lovely open green space. The pool is an added extra with towels provided, there are activities should you wish to join in . The breakfast had lots of choices and no limits, staff would keep bringing toast and coffee til you've had enough. I've no idea what the negative comments are based on, this is a hidden gem in a lovely area. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank joanne5868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We booked at last minute for a one night stay, then looked at the reviews so wasn’t expecting much. On arrival the reception staff were very pleasant and friendly and directed us to our room. The room was basic but clean, plenty of tea making facilities but we chose to purchase tea in the reception and sit in the lounge. Breakfast was self service but great value for money, and also use of a swimming pool. The hotel was full with families and everyone we spoke to was very happy with the hotel. I understand new owners plan to rip it apart next year and make it 5 star with a spa, thus pricing the people who go now out of the market, I say leave it as it is, we will definitely return before the builders get there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Arrived after 3pm, to be given room 5 omg disgusting smell, the bathroom had damp up the wall, the toilet even worse. We went to reception and the manager agreed with us. We had to wait 2 hours for a lodge to be cleaned. The hotel is so run down no effort made by cleaning staff. The loing downstairs only had a sofa which a cat used as scratching post. my sister and her husband were in room 8 the room was a good size but again in need of a thorough clean, the mirror had marks all over it. At midnight a maintenance guy knocked on my sister's room as the toilet was leaking to a downstairs room, he came back 3 times without a spanner in the end my brother in law fixed it with a spoon!! Breakfast was awful toast burnt, flies around the food no lids on the food. We paid £80 each room if we could have had a refund we would have left straight away yesterday. Not sure how people can say all is perfect at the hotel u need to see where else they have reviewed and not stay there either.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews