We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Peice of Local History”

Path Head Water Mill
Reviewed January 26, 2015

This is an attraction that was pretty much on the doorstep, but somewhere we just never got round to visiting. We eventually decided to visit on a sunny afternoon, and I am glad that we did!

After a leisurely walk to Path Head, we were pleasantly surprise by the size and also how well hidden it appeared to be. There were a few other visitors already there when we arrived, but the guide was very friendly.

It was very interesting to see the history of the mill and then to see the workings, as they would have been when the mill was in operation. It has been lovingly restored by people who have a genuine passion for the industrial history of the North East and want to pass this on to every visitor. There was also a trail which was a nice way to take in information about various machinery such as wind turbines, and other water powered machinery.

There was a small seating area indoors which a where you could buy tea, coffee and a small section of cold drinks and snacks. However as the weather was so nice, we were offered seats to take out on to the grassed area with was a very relaxing way to finish our visit.

Overall we both enjoyed our visit to Path Head Water Mill and on such a beautiful day it was sad that there were so few visitors to what is a very interesting attraction. I think one of the reasons could be the price of admission that in my opinion seems a little excessive considering the size of the attraction. This may well put family or larger groups of visitors off.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"industrial heritage"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"restoration"
in 3 reviews
"restore"
in 2 reviews
"piece"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Sad to say we'd driven past the sign to Path Head Water Mill many times without actually bothering to visit. Luckily this weekend we put an end to that and are very glad that we did. Trevor is a very knowledgeable and friendly guide and was happy to answer any questions that we had and to generally make us feel very welcome. He has a true passion for the Mill and for the industrial heritage of Tyneside in general and both he and the Mill deserve better than the trickle of visitors that currently come through the doors. Anyway, I digress.....The Mill itself has been lovingly restored and is set within a beautiful and very tranquil woodland environment. There's a lot to see, ranging from the Mill itself to wind turbines, water features and a fantastic map of the UK and Ireland made from grass. Our young son had a great time running around the map in particular and also thoroughly enjoyed seeing the workings of the Mill itself. All in all a very pleasant afternoon and hopefully one that we'll repeat again soon.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank EGM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've lived about 3 mile away from the mill having seen the sign many times going past. I eventually went to find this beautiful mill that I wasnt expecting at all. You can get to go inside and see the workings; there is also a large scale map of the UK in the grass; and several types of machinery showing alternative power inclduing differnt types of wind power. Very interesting

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very interesting site with some unusual items to see, not just a restored water mill. Well worth a visit if you are in the area and want to chill out for an hour or two.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Saw a sign on the Blaydon road for Path Head Water Mill, fancied a cuppa and decided to go and have a look. A bit of a steep hill to get there but worth it. We were first to arrive on Bank Holiday Monday and had the benefit of the whole place to ourselves for a short while. Our wander through the garden areas around the mill ponds in glorious weather put us right into nature with flowers, fungi, birds, water and fresh air and washed away the blues from the awful winter. We came out of the gardens absolutely chilled out and feeling that spring and summer had both arrived at the same time and then there was the visit to the restored mill building for some fascinating insight into the restoration and the excellent photo-opportunities were a real bonus. £2 a head entry fee for a couple of wrinklies plus a couple of pound for a cuppa was loose-change well spent and we expect to make regular visits in the future.

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank MandBCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Path Head Water Mill also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Path Head Water Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing