We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful 2 days spent at the fowey hotel”
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
devon
1 review
“wonderful 2 days spent at the fowey hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Wonderful 2 days spent at the fowel hotel. Lovely bedroom, friendly staff and a very well made vodka and soda. Thank you to everybody who works there

Room Tip: ours was 401 i believe. lovely spot on the lower ground floor with french doors onto a small terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    360
    93
    29
    21
See reviews for
152
996
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just spent another long weekend at the Fowey Hotel. We try to go down once or twice a year, off season as it's quieter in the town.This time we went with my son and his fiancé to a murder mystery week end. This was great fun and the staff organised the drinks and meals with quiet efficiency. As ever the food was superb, the staff friendly but unobtrusive and the Hotel as charming as ever in all it's "faded glory"!
We felt very spoilt by every one and everything...only the weather, on the Friday, failed to come up to it's usual standard!
We very much look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms which look up river are less expensive than sea view but still give a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie-Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our fourth visit and the second time in room 302 which is full of romantic memories for us.
We love the very slightly faded charm of the hotel, the courteousness of the staff and the food in the restaurant is so good that it has become our yardstick for all other restaurants and hotels that we visit. We love it so much that we will definitely return many times but we are concerned that it will begin to deteriorate due to lack of maintenance. The Fowey is a grand old Victorian lady but she is showing her age and the cracked tiles in the entrance hall, the rusting railings and the need for some painting and maintenance in the rooms is worrying. We were also disappointed to see the menu had 50% of the courses marked with significant supplements (only 10% of items last year) which severely increases the tariff of the 'dinner included' Classics package. We hate to add these negative points but we feel that if they are given due attention it will ensure that the Fowey retains its well-deserved reputation

Room Tip: Room 302 without doubt! It has dual aspect i.e. views across the estuary and views back towards Fow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2012

In many respects you step back in time but the hotel is all the better for that.
A lovely ambience with good food...a wonderful breakfast.
Peace and quiet and a good starting to explore from.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellFedFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this charming hotel last week-end and loved everything about it. The restaurant was outstanding - what a chef! The food was amazing! Our room was spacious and comfortable with stunning views over the estuary. Everything was spotless and well organised. The staff excelled at great customer service - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel Is in a great location very close to the centre of Fowey. We will certainly go back for another wonderful week-end break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night last Saturday as a Birthday present from my husband. Wow! What a present! From the moment we arrived we were met in the car park by Paul who was friendly and informative regarding the local public car park (unfortunately we hadn't booked a space at the hotel). The head receptionist checked us in she was also very friendly. Being an ex travel agent I have stayed at many hotels over the years and what always seems to let a place down is the un-friendly and un-welcoming reception staff, well not here.

It didn't end there every single member of staff we met during our stay was friendly and courteous including the barman, longe manager, waiting staff and room cleaners.

The hotel itself was truly wonderful. Our room was spacious and decorated very tastefully. Very comfortable bed. Nice little touches like a teapot and french press. The hotel lounges were comfortable and cosy.

We were given a voucher when we checked in for complimentary tea/coffee which we took on the terrace as the weather was fine. The views from the terrace over Polruan are simply stunning.

Although we didn't have dinner in the hotel, other guests were praising the chef. When we go back (hopefully in August) we hope to have dinner there ourselves. We did however have a great breakfast in the restaurant and timed it right so that we had 1 of only 4 tables in the window, overlooking the sea. What a way to start the day!

In a word: unbeatable!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leamarie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed at the delightful Fowey Hotel last night. 28.02.2012.

Service from every member of staff: 5 Star
Hotel Room: 5 Star
Food: 5 Star
View: 5 Star
Exceptional levels of service.
Perfect, Simply Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
670 reviews
7.1 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
10.3 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
864 reviews
11.2 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing