We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a refreshing change! Friendly staff, lovely food and quality accomodation. The room (No 5, a superior room) was tasteful, with a huge bed! Ok the TV was small but we don't go on holiday to watch TV! The view of the Estuary was lovely to wake up to in the morning. I cannot fault anything our stay was perfect. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstykirstie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    158
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
41
463
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My partner and I stayed for two nights at The Old Quay House this weekend - a surprise, last minute get away from the everyday stresses of life. Plus, we'd never visited Fowey before.
Three things initially spring to mind when I think about our stay at the Old Quay House.... service, location and the restaurant.
What a change to find a hotel where all the staff (and management) are enthusiastic, professional and friendly young people!! Quite something. From the moment I reserved our room with Samantha, I knew Old Quay House was going to be special. She was polite, knowledgable and patient! Then we were greeted by the manager (Alex..?) who again was very courteous, friendly and welcoming. All the housekeeping and waiting staff were equally as friendly.
Then there's the location - arguably the best spot in Fowey. The outdoor terrace was fantastic for breakfast in the sun, and early evening cocktails (recommend their Fowey Punch!). The view is ever changing and very distracting.
And finally the food... exquisite. All of it. What more can I say!
Our room was room 3. A standard double (I booked late!). I have to admit I was a little worried it might be a bit small and dark, being at the back of the hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. A reasonable size room, large window allowing lots of light in, and a proper, full size bathroom. We particularly liked some of the little touches, like the rain macs, White company toileteries, fresh milk for tea and coffee and good choice of reading material.
Would we return - yes, most definately, and we shall also recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Book in plenty of time, to get the estuary view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse. The many flights of stairs were worth the amazing views of the harbor. The penthouse was furnished to perfection with all the luxuries one needs to make their stay special.
The hotel itself was in the heart of Fowey's gorgeous narrow rows with unique shops and goreous tea rooms. A gem of a place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Wow. What an amazing location! The hotel is great. Very attractively furnished. The staff are also so friendly and helpful. The views of the river are to die for. Wonderful choice at breakfast also.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Could only get a front room as a last minute booking. Room was a very good size modern but chic. Very good size bath and on suite. OK TV is a bit on the small side but not a major point. Bed was a Queen size and is probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in - sheer luxury.
Excellent breakfast and dinner menus. Staff extremely efficient, helpful and friendly.

Only downside was that it was a little niosy for half an hour or so when the pubs kicked out and woken early by the sea gulls - but soon got back to sleep again. Double glazing might be a solution.
Again £180 for a front room is a little steep but with a dinner deal thrown in felt good value overall

Room Tip: Rear river view if possible but you will enjoy the hotel which ever room you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeUK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Small room - well maintained
Great terrace and willing staff (we hung out there a lot)
Breakfast food good
Dinner was very poorly done (fish and sides for two)
Couple of local wines and beers - could do with more
We enjoyed hiring boat, ready money cove etc...and nice cornish pasty from butchers
Liked it enough to head back!

Room Tip: Go for a room with estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Wonderful decor, quirky location, superb service. Small but perfectly formed. Heading back for a couple of nights late July

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,349 reviews
0.5 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
659 reviews
9.9 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,546 reviews
34.2 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
22.5 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity.ca, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing