We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“January Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Quay House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Quay House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“January Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here the first week in January just as Fowey seemed to be slowing down until the mid term break.The Old Quay staff were most friendly on arrival,took our luggage and then we went off to park our car which is about a eight minute walk away.We didnt find this any incovenience and you became acquainted with the small streets of Fowey.Our room had a side view of the estuary and was quite nicely appointed with a very nice bathroom.Breakfast was excellent in the morning and once again found the staff most attentive and friendly.We ate one evening in the restaurant which had a relaxed atmosphere and enjoyed a pleasant meal.
If we were to make one suggestion we would like to have been able to maybe sit in front of a nice fire for a drink in the evening and take in the views,the little area beside the restaurant was quite compact.But I suppose during the longer days most people can go out on the terrace and enjoy the world going by.I think that probably location,location,and the very friendly staff would encourage us to return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    126
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
375
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The owner was excellent very helpful making sure we were comfortable and happy with our room. The rooms were very clean with great decor our room had a small balcony to the side which was small but had some nice views. Breakfast was slow we went for the full English, which wasn't too good they left the plastic around the black pudding and was not very warm. Serving staff not very sociable. But We had a fantastic couple of days there. nice little town they call Fow

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darksvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for the second time in early August and have to say it really is superb. The hotel is really nice and the staff were really helpful and were more than happy to recommend places to walk to / visit.
We have never eaten in the restaurant (other than breakfast which is excallent) so cannot comment on the evening food.

The rooms we have stayed in have both been really clean and had great views over the water. Only complaint is creaking floorboards which did keep us awake a bit - but it is an old property and to be expected.

Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d92qyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Goods: Great views from the terrace. Well appointed rooms, they've thought of everything. Staff are very friendly and always happy to help.

Not so good: You have to travel by car to Fowey, but the parking lot for the hotel is a mile away. There's a very narrow road with not much room to get your luggage out at the front of the hotel. But then again it's a small ancient town! The televisions are very small with no cable. But given the stuff to do outdoors it isn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APWithane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

On this fourth trip to Fowey we changed from our usual hotel to the Old Quay Hotel after reading the good reviews and are so glad that we did. Location is perfect, the staff are warm and helpful, lots of nice little touches throughout. Whatever we needed was available and it was a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary. Definately worth paying the extra for an estuary view room.

Room Tip: Room 12 is large and has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy1berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a refreshing change! Friendly staff, lovely food and quality accomodation. The room (No 5, a superior room) was tasteful, with a huge bed! Ok the TV was small but we don't go on holiday to watch TV! The view of the Estuary was lovely to wake up to in the morning. I cannot fault anything our stay was perfect. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstykirstie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My partner and I stayed for two nights at The Old Quay House this weekend - a surprise, last minute get away from the everyday stresses of life. Plus, we'd never visited Fowey before.
Three things initially spring to mind when I think about our stay at the Old Quay House.... service, location and the restaurant.
What a change to find a hotel where all the staff (and management) are enthusiastic, professional and friendly young people!! Quite something. From the moment I reserved our room with Samantha, I knew Old Quay House was going to be special. She was polite, knowledgable and patient! Then we were greeted by the manager (Alex..?) who again was very courteous, friendly and welcoming. All the housekeeping and waiting staff were equally as friendly.
Then there's the location - arguably the best spot in Fowey. The outdoor terrace was fantastic for breakfast in the sun, and early evening cocktails (recommend their Fowey Punch!). The view is ever changing and very distracting.
And finally the food... exquisite. All of it. What more can I say!
Our room was room 3. A standard double (I booked late!). I have to admit I was a little worried it might be a bit small and dark, being at the back of the hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. A reasonable size room, large window allowing lots of light in, and a proper, full size bathroom. We particularly liked some of the little touches, like the rain macs, White company toileteries, fresh milk for tea and coffee and good choice of reading material.
Would we return - yes, most definately, and we shall also recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Book in plenty of time, to get the estuary view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.5 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
9.9 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
22.5 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
34.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Property: The Old Quay House Hotel
Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing