We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful escape”
Lamellyon Roundhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lamellyon Roundhouse
Garden and view Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Lamellyon Roundhouse
Garden and view
Living room
Living room
The View
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen
Kingsize bedroom
View from bedroom
Kingsize bedroom
Bathroom
The View
Front patio
Garden and view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CA283
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We are a family of four, two adults a baby and dog. Stayed for one week.
Clean and smart on arrival, key collected from Charlie.
This place is so remote and quiet you truly feel at peace with the world and like you are in total isolation... In a god way!!
There are neighbouring cows but they don't bother anyone....
Having read the previous reviews I assume the mattress has been replaced as we found it very comfortable. The decor is traditional and comfortable. We felt it could do with some updating to really have the wow factor.
The bathroom is dated, and the kitchen could use a spruce up. But these do offer charm in keeping with the property.
We loved our stay here, the points I make are probably just our taste.
Ample to do locally, parking, nice outdoor area, dog loved the large garden.
Only think we didn't locate that was advertised was a BBQ, maybe we missed it but that would've been nice.
Great place, great location, could just benefit from some updating to top it off. All said we would return and had a great week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your time to leave feedback about Llamellyon Roundhouse. It looks like you had a great time. The property really is known for being so peaceful and calm and I am glad you enjoyed that. We will pass on your comments to the owner in regards to updating the property but we are glad you found it clean and smart on arrival. The owners as well as ourselves would love to welcome you back to Cornwall so you can enjoy it more soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane W
Snettisham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“peaceful easy feeling”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the Roundhouse last week. The keyholder is a lovely man who lives very close by so it was easy to pick up the key. After an 8 hour drive we just wanted to rest. The accommodation is really lovely, and we found we had everything we needed. At times I sat outside reading a book watching wild rabbits, woodpeckers, listening to buzzards and ravens overhead -we saw more wildlife here than when we were out an about.
To visit Fowey there is the ferry, it costs £4.60 one way per car but saves you a long drive and is fun. From our base we visited Polperro, Charlestown, Lost Gardens of Heligan and Mevagissey. We also did some coast walks. It was a lovely place to come back to and I enjoyed the peace and quiet. My one and only complaint - the bed - it was so uncomfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you appreciated meeting the lovely key holder. It is good to know that the property had everything in place for your stay; we will let the owner know about the bed. The outdoors is truly amazing and the perfect place to sit back and relax, we hope you had a lovely book to match. Looks like you had fun exploring Cornwall and we would love for you to return and explore more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluelizar...
N Wales
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Dog-friendly accommodation in a peaceful, scenic location”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our first holiday in Cornwall. Look forward to returning again very soon. Here’s some key points –
Ease of booking / payment – painless, booked through 3rd party (Cornish Traditional Cottages - £13 booking fee), paid 25% deposit at time of booking with the balance 6 weeks before (not 4 weeks as per their website), excellent directions to both the property and the keyholder
Keyholder – lives close to the property (approx ½ mile), friendly character, organise pick-up time with him at least 24 hours before you arrive (booking company should give you his contact details)
Property location – down a track in a peaceful hamlet (Lanteglos) surrounded by rolling fields, plenty of parking space
Property - nicely furnished, fresh wild flowers on the table, storage heaters if required, most mod-cons, plenty of crockery / cutlery / tea towels / scrubbers, no washing powder (take your own), useful information on cork board / in folder, limited head space in bedroom
Things to do - beaches, museums, pubs and shops all within a 10-mile radius (depending on personal preference)
Outside – lovely sweeping lawns with bench to enjoy the views and a patio with table / chairs for 2, recycling receptacles at rear
Dog friendly – costs extra (£24 for 1 week at Whit) must be up to date with flea treatments, cannot remain in accommodation on their own, must stay off the furniture, must stay in your eye line due to livestock nearby
Cons:
outside needs some TLC – patio table has no umbrella and had bits of bird poo on it, patio and path full of weeds and also had bird poo scattered around, rotary drier needs replacing
charge extra during school holidays even though only sleeps 2 – really annoying
no wifi (knew this at the time of booking)
mattress / pillows weren’t the most comfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi (which I knew about at the time of booking)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed your first holiday in Cornwall; we look forward to welcoming you back to Cornwall in the near future. I am sorry if there was any confusion regarding the balance due date for the holiday, we do advise in the booking terms and conditions on the website that the final payment is due 6 weeks before a holiday commences. I am also delighted to hear that you the found the keyholder a friendly character, he is a dear old soul. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will certainly mention the condition of the garden furniture and rotary dryer to the owner. Thank you again for your constructive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile737...
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Thank you for your much appreciated feedback in regards to Lamellyon Roundhouse. We're happy to hear you found the property was lovely, well maintained and well furnished. The places of Fowey, Polruan and Bodinnick are stunning this time of year and we are glad you was able to appreciate this part Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing