We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything was immaculate and we felt instantly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Macnean Lodge

Macnean Lodge, set in mature grounds in the heart of the Fermanagh Lakelands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Macnean Lodge, set in mature grounds in the heart of the Fermanagh Lakelands
Modern, well maintained property Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Macnean Lodge, set in mature grounds in the heart of the Fermanagh Lakelands
Modern, well maintained property
Entrance hall
Entrance hall
Bedroom one
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
A great spot to do dishes
Kitchen
Diner
Head for the nearby Marble Arch Caves for a boat ride (water levels permitting)
Take a walk in the Lough Navar forest, 20 minutes away.
Have a splash at the Activity Centre, literally 2 minutes up the road
A 45 minute drive to Mullaghmore and its beautiful golden beach. The ideal spot for a picnic.
The nearby lakeside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PAULA VAU...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was immaculate and we felt instantly at home.Excellent+++”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fidelma greeted us warmly .She had a welcome hamper with the makings for tea and coffee and cookies and OJ for breakfast.
A 20 min drive into Enniskillen, so fairly central for those wanting to see the sights,fish in the lake or whatever .
The week went so fast we shall just have to return.....again.!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay . You'll be welcome any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We try our best to make it a home from home.Lovely guests always welcome to come again
Regards Gavin and Fidelma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen M
1 review
“Family friendly cottage”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great comfortable cottage, lovely garden, enjoyed chatting to the pigs. A good base for northern and southern excursions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you for the review. I hope Terry and his wives weren't too boisterous!
Thank you for leaving the Lodge nice and tidy.
Kind Regards

Gavin & Fidelma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmacdOrkn...
orkney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super location, all the home comforts you need”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a wonderful stay at Macnean lodge, with our 2 children. Situated in Fermanagh there are ample activities for all ages, wonderful scenery. The marble arch caves are a ten minute drive away and within an hour or two you can visit the giants causeway. The lodge itself has everything you need, Gavin was very welcoming and there was a basket of tea,coffee etc for our arrival. The gardens surrounding the lodge are well kept, there's bbq facilities and private parking. We will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you for the review. It's most appreciated. You had the best car so far of our guests! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyOxford...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little home from home”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the owners. Even though we had shopped on the way to the lodge, a basket of provisions plus milk were waiting for us in the kitchen - a thoughtful touch.
The lodge itself was extremely comfortable and cosy - a plus when coming back from a day in the cold and rain. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside and has many quirky ornaments in the garden.
My wife and I both agreed that this was one of the most comfortable properties that we have stayed in and if we come to this area again, will not hesitate to try to book it.
Incidentally, if you are looking for a Sunday roast lunch, go to the Horseshoe & Saddler's Bistro in Belmore Street, Enniskillen. We had a great carvery there but booking is probably very wise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you very much . It is a pleasure to share our lovely area and our property glad you found it comfy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magee-Hil...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived on Friday evening into the centre if Belcoo (Gavin's directions were exact), a quick phone call & a few mins later Fidelma warmly greeted us with a front door key & a quick "show round" to ensure we knew where everything was. Lovely touch was the "welcome pack" consisting of tea bags, coffee, milk, choc cookies & fruit juice in the fridge - perfect!

The mature gardens at the lodge we beautiful & Gavin had advised us prior to our arrival that there was a BBQ on site so we BBQ'd on Saturday evening - added bonus that the weather held out !!

You could have eaten your dinner off the floor the place was so clean! The beds were comfortable, lovely living area with fireplace & comfy seating. Kitchen was well equipped for any occasion, homely & with a gorgeous view of the garden.

The location is only a few minutes drive from Belcoo itself where u can find a convenience store with free ATM, chippy, chemist, pubs etc.

The Well Pub is also worth a visit - friendly staff & patrons, pool table & music that wasn't too loud that you couldn't hear yourself speak - defo worth a visit. If you need a taxi, rather than driving the bar man will give you the number of a local driver.

All in all a FANTASTIC place to stay for a relaxing break but with plenty on your doorstep if you want something other than reading a book. A folder with all the "attractions" is also provided by the owners, another nice touch.

Will definitely be back and have already passed the Macnean Lodge details on to a few friends.....a little gem!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place which had a real home from home feeling”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I spent four days at Macnean Lodge with my wife and two children. From day one we really felt at home. It has everything you could ask for in a holiday cottage. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. Small things like toliet roll and soap in the bathroom and cling film, tin foil, kitchen roll, freezer blocks etc in the kitchen. There is a village (Belcoo) nearby with a pharmacy, post office, small store and pub/restaurant, although we were not staying long enough to use them as we got our supplies from nearby Enniskillen at the start of our stay. The lodge has a fantastic setting next to the Lough and is very quiet and peaceful. The broadband came in useful for the numerous smatphones and tablets that we had with us and the tv and dvd meant that we were never short of things to do in the evenings. I can highly recommend this place if you would like a cosy place to stay and as a base for further exploration of both Northern and Southern Ireland. We all agreed at the end of our stay that we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing