We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,096)
Filter reviews
2,096 results
Traveller rating
1,230
623
173
46
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
623
173
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leftbank restaurant lock restaurant left bank buffet restaurant outdoor pool lock bar and kitchen magna carta riverside room river view walk along the river spa facilities watching the boats windsor castle lovely hotel lounge bar weekend break heathrow airport
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,096 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Arriving at the hotel the car park offered plenty of space and not so far from reception. Check in was very professional but not very warm. The room was adequate, spacious however plenty of hairs on the bathroom floor, that was not a nice sight.
The grounds are very nice and the view of the river is really spectacular. You can walk all the way along the river.
Outdoor pool - nice size and very calming surrounds.
Spa pool - good area to relax and saunas also available
Lounge - ordered a tea for two. A lot of tea offered and of very good quality.
The Lock - Food as always was a plus, very good offer, quality and good service.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank santamonica2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am glad that you found the car park spacious and the check-in very professional and the room adequate and spacious. I am, however, sorry that you felt check in was not very warm and that there were hairs on the bathroom floor which is unacceptable. There is always a Duty Manager available who is happy to help with any arising issues. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the location, the spa facilities and the good quality food in the Lock and the Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We recently stayed here for a two night weekend break. the room was small but well equipped and looked over the Bell weir lock. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our deal had dinner in the Left bank restaurant included; there was an eclectic selection of hot and cold dishes, I had the chicken curry which was very nice. Some of the sauces for the other dishes looked quite unappealing as they had been under the heat lamps too long and thick skin had formed on them. Breakfast was in the same place and it was really one of the best I have ever had. A great selection of fruits, muesli, pastries and hot dishes available in a self serve buffet. Egg dishes made to order if you wish. Ten out of ten for the breakfast. There are inside and outside pools, steam room and sauna available to residents. Boat hire can be arranged for an additional cost. The big advantage to us was that we parked the car for the weekend and explored the area by foot via the Thames towpath walk which passes right by the hotel. A lovely walk to old Windsor and the site of the signing of the Magna Carta via the RAF memorial atop Coopers hill. This is a busy hotel with plenty going on from Weddings, to birthday parties and family celebrations. They seem to have everything well under control and it was a pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leapingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your kind review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am pleased that you found the room well equipped with a lovely view over the Bell Weir Lock; we do have different categories available; some of which are larger in size should you wish to book one for your next stay. My apologies, however, that you found some of the main dishes unappealing in our leftbank restaurant although I am pleased you enjoyed the chicken curry. I have passed on your feedback to our Head Chef to review. I am glad to learn that you took full advantage of our location and the beautiful walks along the towpath as well as the indoor and outdoor facilities such as pool, spa and gym. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Our first stay here was excellent. Unfortunately this time the room we were put in was very noisy due to an event at night and other noises very early in the morning. there were no spare pillows or blankets and only water, towels. etc for 2 people when we were 3. The food is very good both for dinner in the "Lock Bar and Kitchen" and breakfast in the "Leftbank Restaurant"

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from the Events area if you want a quiet night.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JuanTre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay. During the school holidays, it can be a little noisier due to various family celebrations and guest activity I can only apologise. I have passed on your feedback to our Head Housekeeper as there should be 3 sets of everything in the room if there is a family of 3 staying with us. Should you choose to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact reception or the Duty Manager so they can resolve any arising issues for you. I am, however, pleased that you have enjoyed your dinner in the Lock Bar and Kitchen and found the breakfast very good too. We do hope you will visit us again. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We came here for my mother's 60th on reccomendation... and we were not disappointed.
The buffet of starters was enough to fill you up... fresh prawns, salmon, salads, cheeses and my favourite being the hoi sin beef.
The carvery was fantastic too. Quality cuts of meat and very generous too. The desserts were beautifully presented too.
Although our table reservation time was late... the staff made up for it with their impeccable service. They really made my mum feel special.
Thanks for a lovely meal!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your positive review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you chose the leftbank restaurant for your mother’s 60th birthday and that we were able to make her feel special on her special day. I have passed on your kind comments about the quality of food as well as the lovely service to our Leftbank Manager to convey to her team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had afternoon tea here on Sunday.
Service was very good, and they were very accommodating in swapping sandwich fillings.
We started with the elderflower and mint presse which was very refreshing.
The quality of the sandwiches and cakes was excellent. The bread very fresh with tasty fillings, and the cakes very enjoyable.
We especially enjoyed the scones, they were possibly the best I've had.
Finish all that off with a nice pot of tea and we were very happy.
I'd happily recommend the afternoon tea here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cyberwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and found the team very accommodating and the service very good. I have passed on your lovely words to our Pastry Chef who was glad to learn that the scones were possibly the best you have ever tasted and that the cakes and sandwiches were excellent too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews