We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of our best holidays ever”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pgpaulg
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of our best holidays ever”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We could not fault this stay at all and would give it 6 stars if we were able. The cottage was clean, facilities were modern but didn't spoil the old stable feel of the building, small touches like the freshly laid eggs on arrival added to the feeling of truly being welcome. But what made the holiday were the owners, Amanda and Andy. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Andy in particular spent the time taking our 4yr old daughter round the farm whenever she wanted, collecting the chicken's eggs for our breakfast, feeding the animals, holding & playing with them (especially the rabbits) - at times we had trouble getting her to go out on our day trips, she was so happy at the farm. I would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for making this one of our best holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amanda, Andy & their animals
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well-appointed property with a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We (adults and children of various ages) all enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was well-appointed and comfortable and our hosts were welcoming and helpful. We would happily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Good Trip”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I recently took my wife, baby and parents for a trip to Norfolk and stayed at The Retreat. We booked a long weekend (Friday - Monday). The place was incredible. It was incredibly peaceful yet accessible to so the whole of Norfolk. The owner was really friendly and hospitable making you feel welcome and at home from arrival. I will definitely be returning next year and cannot recommend this place enough. Clean, spacious, relaxing, thoroughly enjoyable and great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and its locations
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lal09
Cambs
2 reviews
“Wow, what a gem!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've just returned from a short stay at The Retreat, Riverside Farm and I have to say it was fantastic. As soon a we stepped through the door we knew we were staying somewhere special. The internal decore of the converted stable block is beautiful. It is very simple and modern, but really in keeping with the building at the same time. The place was absolutely spotless and we had a welcome pack including fresh milk (a godsend, when you're deperate for a cuppa) and fresh eggs (from the chickens that greeted us in the yard as we arrived).

Amanda and Andy, who own the cottages, were lovely and couldn't have done more to ensure we had a relaxing and enjoyable break. There were loads of little touches that made our stay so much easier than other holiday rentals as real attention had been paid to making it child suitable/proof, even down to having a toddler toilet seat and plug-in safety covers on the electric sockets. My daughter also adored the fact that her room had been kitted out with pink bed linen and towels. Thank you, Amanda!

I hadn't made too much of the pet's corner before we arrived as I didn't want to raise and then dash expectations (we've been quite disappointed by some petting farms recently) but my three year old had an amazing time. The chickens and ducks were roaming free and chased her round the courtyard. And Andy took her to see the sheep and best of all to feed the goats. The baby billy-goat, Jake, gave her cuddles. It was like the petting zoos of our youth where you got to get up close and personal with the animals and perhaps get the ocassional nibble but that is half the fun!

The visitors' book was full of lovely messages from people saying they'd be back and as I flicked through I could see they meant it as they left the next message the following year. We hope to join that group with another longer visit next year. Thanks again, Andy and Amanda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like staying in a five star hotel for the price of a Travelodge
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
2 reviews
“A wonderful spot in the country, but not too far from towns.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by Amanda and Andy and appreciated the welcome pack of food we found in the kitchen. The children loved visiting the farm animals and playing on the outdoor toys. We enjoyed the quiet countryside yet only being a few miles away from supermarkets and places to visit.
The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. The two bathrooms were ideal for our two families. The kitchen was well equipped as well as a BBQ and external seating.
We would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and security of the property.
Liked least: Having to go through the kitchen to the nearest toilet.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R
Witham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“relaxing, enjoyable, a real pleasure”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our 2nd time at riverside and again it was truely great. We stayed a full week and again the accommodation was exceptional and the farm was packed full of things to do. Andy and Amanda were great hosts and always around to show our daughter all the animals. We were all sad to leave. Our daughters highlight was putting gary the eventually friendly goose to bed at night!
Got a feeling we'll be going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicers20...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location and house - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our first visit to Norfolk, and it will definitely not be our last. We stayed in the Retreat and had a fantastic week. The property is home from home - very clean and spacious with excellent facilities. Riverside Farm is a peaceful location that is handy for the supermarket and in easy reach of all that Norfolk has to offer.

We were a party of 5 (including two children age 6 & 7) and found the Retreat had more than enough space for us. We could park our car immediately outside and had full access to the farm. Nice touches like the milk, tea, coffee and fresh eggs were provided on arrival.

The owners, Andy and Amanda were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. They treated us to so many farm experiences it is difficult to list them all but here are a few: collecting fresh eggs each day, feeding the ducks, chickens, goose, rabbits, goats, sheep and horse. Helping bale the hay, playing table tennis, welcoming two new-born baby goats, rides in Andy's quad bike trailer, seeing the doves, the playground area, playing table football, visiting the lake, sharing a home brew!

It was a lovely place to return to each evening and there was an abundance of things to do. The whole family agreed that this was our favourite holiday to date! I would recommend the Retreat and Riverside Farm to anyone who wants to experience the best of Norfolk.

Travelling Tip - if you are travelling to The Retreat on the A47 (from Norwich) don't take the turning signposted for East Tuddenham - take the left turn immediately after it. It isn't signposted but it is the most direct route to the Retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely property and the amazing farm experiences
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing