We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay at Bickley Mill Inn”
Review of The Bickley Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bickley Mill
Ranked #2 of 23 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had to stay in Newton Abbot for work purposes and I had been warned that the most local hotel was pretty grim. I found this little gem on the internet, the food was fabulous, rooms beautifully clean, modern but still full of charm and character and the staff warm and friendly. It was definitely worth the few miles travel into Newton Abbot. If staying in this area for pleasure or a respite, I would absolutely reccomend this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAMG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

Have been going to The Bickley Mill on and off for the last 25 years, 56 of us went last night, adults and teenager's, food superb, service superb, superb value, SUPERB ATMOSPHERE ! ! !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Had a lovely two night stay at the Bickley Mill, staff were very welcoming, room decor was lovely, food excellent and all together a very pleasent hotel/inn. Very few niggly things like shower was too powerful for the screen and had to be very careful not to drown the bathroom and the signal for the TV was jittery, but very minor issues really. Quality of food was great, breakfasts filled us up all day and evening meal great too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Recently went to Bickley Mill, Stoneycombe for a family meal to celebrate my Fiance's 40th Birthday & I have to say the standard of service received from our initial greeting at the bar by General Manager, Matt Goldsmith to being served our meal & checked on during so, was top notch! They made a special effort to light birthday candles for the Birthday boy & turned down the lights in the restaurant while staff gathered around with our family to sing a "Happy Birthday" too which was just lovely. It was a fantastic evening. Its a new & even more improved "if that was ever possible than before" menu & the chef's presentation was the best we've been served anywhere else. One truly special night made unforgettable. Thank you Matt Goldsmith for arranging it for us all :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frecklepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

we have a family gathering every year and decided this year to meet at the bickley mill near newton abbott. it was a good decision and our party of 13 sat down at 7 0'clock for dinner and in spite of the hotel hosting a private function for 80 guests we had first class service throughout the meal in the restaurant which was also fully booked. The food really was first class and served with a smile and we would have no hesitation in recommending them and will certainly visit again in spite of a 400 mile round trip for 4 of us in the party.Our rooms were very comfortable with excellent facilities and the staff were exceptionally efficient. Were informed that the hotel was under new management and they made a great impression on our party

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Beatifully refurbished mill with Boutique Style rooms, idyllic location to the Sea Side, excellent food with very reasonable prices. We spent three lovely nights over the weekend at Bickley Mill whereby we experienced some lovley 'real' staff that offered some wonderful food and recommended super wine.... and some great local places to visit.
Gorgeous log fires and free wi fi, parking and the rooms really are something special
Brilliant location for a wedding, or a really special party...really personal touch for everyones pallate.
Really reccommend for both personal and a great overnight stay for business travel, I travel all over the UK with my work and this really feels not like a work hotel !!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished, depends on the size of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here for more than one night. Initial welcome was ok, but unfortunately went down-hill. There is no lift for your luggage, no internal telephone and when watching television the signal keeps dropping. Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate and at least quiet for resting. Breakfast left a little to be desired and as this wasnt exactly a cheap and cheerful hotel room... i am not impressed and therefore cant recommend to others. The staff where not cheerful and lack fundamental management skills.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJ472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolnkitsch, Public Relations Manager at The Bickley Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

We are very sorry to hear you had a less than excellent stay with us. As you will see from the other reviews we have here on Trip Advisor, we do try to ensure each and every customer is delighted with their stay at the Bickley Mill Inn.

In response to your review, we just wanted to highlight that we do not offer a lift for luggage or internal telephones as we are not a Hotel, and have never been - a Hotel.

If you are taking a return trip to the area we would suggest that if the functions provided by a Hotel are of paramount importance to you, that you call ahead and check with your accommodation of choice. In this circumstance, we have a number of excellent alternative partners locally whom we recommend should Hotel functions be vital to your stay.

On balance, when we became aware of your situation with your luggage, we did offer, and provide, a great deal of assistance. In that regard we feel satisfied that we helped to the best of our ability.

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to review the Bickley Mill Inn, it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
6.1 km away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
11.8 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
512 reviews
8.1 km away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
108 reviews
26.5 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.2 km away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 23 in Newton Abbot
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bickley Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickley Mill

Address: Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range: $125 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bickley Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 13 En-suite bedrooms are individually styled with crisp white linen and home comforts. Each room is fully equipped with Flat Screen television with DVD player, free wireless broadband access, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Separate accommodation entrance for ease of access at all times. Traditional cooked breakfast using local produce. Bathrooms are a delight, with modern contemporary fittings, fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bickley Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickley Mill Hotel Newton Abbot
The Bickley Mill Newton Abbot, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing