We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub grub”
Review of The Byre Inn

The Byre Inn
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Enjoyed dinner here whilst staying in Trossachs. Since we last ate here it has changed hands and we much preferred it. The menu is seasonal with perfect choices for a wintry night. Freshly prepared and really flavoursome. We ate venison, burgers, fish and ox cheeks and all were great. Good selection of drinks with guest ales.
The restaurant was busy with a good atmosphere. Recommend booking. Staff friendly. Will definitely return next time we in area.

Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Manager at The Byre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 428 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

Came here for lunch whilst on our way to loch Katrine. What an amazing find!

My lamb shank was absolutely perfect and you can just tear the meat off the bone. Hubby had haggis and it was just divine.

Keep up with the good work. Will need to find another excuse to return!

Thank Monkey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Manager at The Byre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

Stopped off mid afternoon for a drink on return leg of our hike back to Invertrossachs. Excellent choice........great welcome and friendly service. Good choice of drinks.....beers, ales, wines etc..........and good choice of music!!
Didn't eat on this occasion but would like to try on another occasion if in the area.
Well done the Byre inn and Jason.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Manager at The Byre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Stayed nearby for a week and visited the Byre on three occasions, having a meal on our third visit.

We were made to feel very welcome by Jason,’mine host’ and the meal we had was up there with the best! If you visit, try the venison, fantastic!

Overall a lovely ambience, with terrific music, especially if you like Jazz

Thank Sheafes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Manager at The Byre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thanks. Glad you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

We visited one Saturday lunchtime hoping for a rare treat at this romantic looking gastro pub.

Sadly the staff seemed reluctant to leave kitchen and when they did were very distracted. We eventually ordered and waited for our Cullen skink and veggie chilli. Meantime other guests were looking at their watches while their coffee arrived at the 2nd time of asking.

We think we found one piece of fish in the mainly potato Cullen skink and the chilli was pretty tasteless.

I wouldn’t return.

I am however v curious as why our experience was so different to that reported by other reviewers.

1  Thank dcgriffith1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Manager at The Byre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Hi, thank you for your review and I am sorry you were not satisfied with our food or service. Which date did you visit us? I can then look into this further as it seems very far from how we strive to operate. Cheers for now, Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Byre Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Byre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing