We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lamb :)”

Poppy Seed Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Poppy Seed Restaurant is now closed. We've had two seasons at Poppies Hotel and met a lot of great people. Our staff were truly amazing and brought delight to our lovely costumers. Thank you for those of you who followed us from the Tearoom to here. Thank you to the new fans of Csaba's cooking and continued support. I wish I can tell you where we going to be next, but I can not answer you that. We've got the skills and interest , now two restaurants worth of equipment but not a place we can call our own.While we have our thinking caps on, do get in touch if you want us to cater for you in your home or cook, bake for you in any way. Or if you bought some fish or meat and you don't know what to make from it, email us. We will see what we can do to make your dining experience a good one. Chapter 3 might well be a different business prospect or we will go back to work, we'll see. For now, we thank you all. Veronica and Csaba
Reviewed May 21, 2017

Lamb was melting in our mouth and the cooking, presentation and sides veggies were flawless. The place has a very warmth and zen atmosphere and the service was very smily!
Superb experience there!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Missmoon003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2017

When eating out, normally one of the courses provided lets you down, however here at The Poppy Seed restaurant in Callander, all three courses my husband and I each had were fabulous. The accompanying flavours to my scallops (apple and celeriac) were perfect and my husband's aubergine and chickpea starter was plentiful and very tasty. The mains of duck and salmon were lovely and the puddings superb. Wish we had this restaurant locally to us in London! Very good value too.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MelanieB65152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We visited for dinner and we enjoyed it very much. All the food was excellent and the service was friendly. The menu makes the most of local ingredients and was cooked with great attention to detail. We especially enjoyed the lamb rump with truffle mash.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Tealover626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Had a family meal to celebrate my wifes 40th. The food was amazing and service from the two staff looking after us was excellent, very accommodating.
I had wood pigeon starter and Duck for main ,was really nice. The steak looked great too.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrantJMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017

Absolutely did not expect to find this wonderful a restaurant!
We booked two rooms in the hotel and thought iot was convenient that it had a restaurant so booked a table for the night as well.
Best meal we had in a whole week of travelling through Scotland.
Beautifull dishes, wonderful tastes... very easily compared with Michelin starred restaurants we have visited recently.
We ate slow and consciously and enjoyed every bite, from the starter to the desert.
Everything fresh, full of flavour and with plates dressed with such detail it was a joy to eat it.
Great winelist as well, with excellent choices for very reasonable prices.
Children enjoyed it as well.
Do book a table when in Callander, even if you're not a hotel guest.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppy Seed Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Poppy Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing