We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”

Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A traditional cafe serving delicious Scottish cooking - including fantastic breakfasts, filling lunches, amazing pies, burgers, soups, toasties and sandwiches along with a selection of varied home baking and a selection of teas, coffees, soft drinks and ice creams. Owned and operated by Karen and Michael Campbell, you can be sure of a warm welcome, great food and friendly service at Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs. There's been a traditional Scottish cafe at 12 Main Street, Callander for more than 40 years and it's a very popular spot for locals and visitors to this beautiful part of Scotland. We are building on this legacy to bring you the best in Scottish hospitality and tasty, freshly cooked food, sourced from local suppliers, which will see some changes to the menu and new specials, meals and home baking from time to time.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

We stopped in for lunch on a tour from Edinburgh, and it was a nice surprise. The place was packed, so service was extremely slow, however, the soup was very good, and the egg salad sandwich was also tasty.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank delphi927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Owner at Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thanks for your kind review, good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the food at Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs. As you say, we were extremely busy which did slow down service and we're sorry you had to wait. Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again next time you're in Callander!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2018

Been three times since change of management Great food,Great atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Will be back again

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank HLNLLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Owner at Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Great to hear that you're enjoying your visits to Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs! Thanks for your kind review, we'll pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Pretty poor. £30 for snacks and soft drinks. Food was ok. Cafe was smelly. Staff were nice. The bread shop and cafe next door was far nicer and cheaper.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Owner at Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Hi John, Just to let you know that ownership of the cafe has changed since your visit and has been renamed Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs. We've already made lots of positive changes in the very short time since we bought the business and we're confident that you'll see the difference if you'd like to visit us next time you're in Callander. The cafe is clean and fresh, menus are currently being reviewed and we're focused on providing our customers with great quality traditional Scottish cafe cooking, a varied menu and good value for money with friendly service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Had the breakfast pie and the Bakewell tart. Both were delicious. Also had a cappuccino. It wasn't as good as the food. There was a long line but it moved.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank amandad8082016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

As far as the food is concerned, I doubt if you'd get better in Callander. The pies are great, the haggis cheddar & onion toastie was very satisfying and the huge burgers were terrific. We were just surprised by how long it took for the food to come. Even allowing for things to be freshly cooked, this was a long time coming and we were really hanging out for our lunch by the time the food arrived. Staff were very pleasant and eager to please, but I'd be wary of going in during a busy time with such a delay from ordering to eating. Still great food though!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Campbell's Taste of the Trossachs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing