We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scones”

Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It is not a secret, but still hard to post it that we had to let the Tearoom go.Our lease has finished and no matter how hard we tried to keep our “Green Hut Restaurant”, the decision wasn’t in our hands. It would have been the most magical place to own.We had an opportunity last year to take on the Restaurant at Poppies Hotel, Callander. We called it Poppy Seed. We will keep our Poppy Seed Restaurant for another year and see what happens. We might finally own something, keep you posted.We let the Tearoom go but not all that we have achieved. We would like to introduce the Tearoom menu at Poppy Seed. The one that made us known and brought satisfaction to your palates. If you are looking for good food, we are still here for you. This time, at the edge of the town in Callander.open from 12-9.
Reviewed November 5, 2016

went in here after a short walk. Scones were still warm, so could not resist trying one. Lady behind counter gave us some local interests to look out for- the bike tree. Will call again when back in the area to try a main meal.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank ArranAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 403 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Understated little Scout Hut by the side of the road - a tea room! Did not know of it, have not read reviews and had very low expectations as we stumbled across this tiny place in the middle of nowhere. We were kindly greeted on to their tartan carpet and the place was busy at almost 2pm, but were shown to the only remaining table for four. Warm, friendly, and an amazing gourmet menu - a tea room?? We had soup special, parsnip curry, wood pigeon salad, a Hungarian beef mince stuffed pancake and all were promptly served and totally delicious. This is no tea room. Sorry. But my sister did have a cup of tea to finish. Truly pleasant meal! Delicious surprise.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank harryjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on our way back from Ben A'an. They have some great food and some even greater cakes. More than enough to fuel another hike up a mountain!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Came to see if this little gem lived up to all the positive reviews on trip advisor and certainly was not disappointed. Truly warm Scottish welcome. Excellent food..loved it. Well done xx

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Always enjoy visiting this tea room and are never disappointed - although I have to say the ploughman's lunch was not what I envisaged!!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kate n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing