We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets !”

Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It is not a secret, but still hard to post it that we had to let the Tearoom go.Our lease has finished and no matter how hard we tried to keep our “Green Hut Restaurant”, the decision wasn’t in our hands. It would have been the most magical place to own.We had an opportunity last year to take on the Restaurant at Poppies Hotel, Callander. We called it Poppy Seed. We will keep our Poppy Seed Restaurant for another year and see what happens. We might finally own something, keep you posted.We let the Tearoom go but not all that we have achieved. We would like to introduce the Tearoom menu at Poppy Seed. The one that made us known and brought satisfaction to your palates. If you are looking for good food, we are still here for you. This time, at the edge of the town in Callander.open from 12-9.
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Had lunch here . My wife had the roast belly pork and I had the Hungarian goulash . Both were excellent , well presented and just the right size of portion. We did not bother with a pud but purchased two slices of cake for later. They were excellent to. So a must visit place

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 403 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2016

This small Inn is olde world meals are lovely and the staff are very friendly and most off all Dogs are Welcome.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank carolynpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Looking at this it doesnt look much as its in a green hut. I suppose its unique but doesnt have a plush restaurant look about it. Upon entering it looks like a tearoom, quite old fashioned but cosy and clean.
We were welcomed straight away by a friendly waitress and seated.
The menu for lunch certainly sounded appealing. We ordered monkfish scampi to start then i went for panfried hake and my partner went for the venision.
Once the meal came we were not disappointed the food was amazing. This place is certainly worth a visit. Definately up there with the top restraunts. Top quality food and service.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

we stopped here for dinner expecting a good meal in a quaint old "shed" of a building

but the meal was outstanding , with a real quality to the menu choices and a friendly service in a quaint setting

would absolutely visit again when next in the Trossachs

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rogersWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Lovely welcoming cafe with delicious food in quirky cabin come cafe. Food was all delicious without exception. Hearty goulash was a winter warmer on this cold bonfire night. The seafood chowder was exceptionally good and not the generic creamy white sauce you get in so many places. It was light yet hearty at the same time. Would strongly recommend anyone to visit. One suggestion, lose the calor gas and get a wood burning stove.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Teakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brig o' Turk Tearoom and Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing