We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very helpful and lovely host!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roslin Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roslin Cottage
Ranked #13 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Wil SG, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very helpful and lovely host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our room was tiny, but we just managed to squeeze all four of us in, thanks to the "nestbed", which our children fought over, because it looked so cozy!

But, once again, there was a lovely guest lounge, that was so welcoming and spacious so we hardly were in our room, except for sleeping.

There was a lovely cup of tea for us - and hot chocolate for the children - on our arrival, and delicious shortbread! Also wireless throughout the house, so all our dreams come true!

Breakfast was a wonderful experience as all the guests sat at one table and were chatting and eating, and, of course, the food was absolutely delicious!

We would love to come again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milsom-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    28
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
90
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Wonderful breakfast - lucy and sid are very hospitable - a home away from home

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet_konijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

On arrival Lucy & Sid were very welcoming,we stayed in the Ben ledi room very spacious,clean,comfortable.Tea& coffee on landing great idea,We looked forward to the morning for the excellent breakfast platta which was served at one table where we could talk with the other guests great idea.It was truly home from home,and would recommend Roslin cottage to any one visiting callander.Do not change anything,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitbat186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Roslin Cottage for 1 night in July. The cottage is at an excellent location, acting as a base for fun and adventure in the Trossachs. Lucy and Sid are very warm hosts and Sid an excellent cook. The rooms are very comfortable with all amenities you can think of for a good B&B. The house also has a lounge area and a garden to relax.

We had a good time and we might be back in future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhurB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

It is a very nice little cottage. We stayed for one night only, so we booked the smallest room.. which is very small, but with a beautiful view on the garden. The place is clean, the landlady was kind and helpful, and breakfast was very good with many special things to taste. Coffee-tea making facilities were available just outside our bedroom, with a wide choice of beverages and even some shortbread (very appreciated!) I would surely go back, but in a larger room next time (they looked very confortable).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Wonderful B and B for long or short getaway. Lucy and Sid are the perfect hosts. We booked the smallest bedroom - Cherryview - and although compact it was fine for our overnight stay. Coffee and tea making faciities,glasses, corkscrew, DVDs and. books are all on the landing outside the bedrooms. There is also lots of information on the surrounding area and where to eat.

Breakfast is a feast! All options are catered for in a very elegant breakfast room. This B and B attracts guests from all over Europe - we shared breakfast this morning with a couple from France.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friockheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

This B&B is perfectly located just outside the sometimes busy center of Callander. Never a parking problem, which is a great plus! The warm welcome of Lucy made us feel at home right away. As said by so many other visitors, the rooms are spacious, clean, and the dvds to lend came in handy. And of course not to forget, the breakfast is jummy. we particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit to start the day off with. We also appreciated the sense of humour of both hosts. :-) If we get the chance, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HildeJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.8 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.4 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 km away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 km away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 km away
Glengarry Guest House
Glengarry Guest House
#6 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Cottage

Property: Roslin Cottage
Address: Lagrannoch | Stirling Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roslin Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roslin Cottage B&B sits at the east gateway to Callander, a great base for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, Scotland's first National Park. Our stone walled cottage, built in 1700's, now completely renovated with many original features kept has exposed beams in the lounge with open log fire. Kirtle bedroom too has exposed stone wall and whirlpool bath en-suite. Cherryview our small double room (can be a single) overlooks our tranquil garden. No gardening duties included. Ben Ledi room, can have cot or small bed for 1 child added. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Generous traditional Scottish breakfast cooked by resident chef Sid. Special diets (with notice appreciated). We aim to make our home your home throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Roslin Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roslin Cottage Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing