We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stiing outside eating their famous fish and chips and sometimes a plane lands on the Loch and passengers come to eat!!”

Loch Venacher Harbour Cafe
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Definately not to be missed if in the area, the range of food and wine is excellent as is the cakes and pastries.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

Extremely impressed by the service, location and most importantly the food.

Having dietary requirements it can be a challenge to find a place where the team are happy to go the extra mile. We pre-booked a table and advised before arriving that dairy free options would be needed. Not an issue. On arrival I was presented with a menu highlighted with the dairy free options. We chose a sharing dish which was specially adapted to accommodate all our dining requirements, it looked and tasted amazing.

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to produce such a wonderful lunch. Well done to the whole team.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank VivienneMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2017

Visited this cafe on a Saturday afternoon stopped on the way to Callander,asked for a seat outside as it was a beautiful sunny day, shown to our table,ordered our drinks,a coke,two Americans and a latte,waiter told us the special was Cullen skink and butternut squash soup,we ordered theee Cullen skink and a butternut squash soup, we waited what seemed like an eternity for it to arrive,when it did come all Cullen skink were cold,butternut soup was ok, waitress was asked to take it away waited another while for it to come back,in fact we went back to cancel it,but was told it was just being served.
Few minutes later out it came,no complaints about it being cold this time but it was very watery,prob the worst we have ever had.
We asked for the bill and was shocked it was over £40, for four drinks and four soups? Unbelievable!
We were just about to query the bill when a girl came out (possibly the manager) and told us we were not to pay for the Cullen skink,fair play to her for that and to be honest that's what we expected but nice to see that she identified our disappointment.
Unfortunately that's the only positive I can give for our visit.
Next time we won't stop en route to Callander.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scotfalconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

Was warned this was a good cafe but outranks a lot of big Scottish restaurants. Food excellent and good value. So good sea plane arrived with visitors from lunch lomand

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Jacimri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Worth a visit just for the views from the cafe but the food is also very good. Best Cullen skink I have had. Staff very welcoming - relaxed and friendly atmosphere .

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bjd499502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Venacher Harbour Cafe also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Loch Venacher Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing