We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pub, good beer, great food.”
Review of The Tree Inn

The Tree Inn
Ranked #22 of 122 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving lunch 12.00 - 14.30, dinner 18.00 - 21.00 Monday to Saturday and presenting a beautiful carvery from 12.00 to 16.00 Sunday. The Tree Inn is a former Manor House, parts of which date back to the 13th Century. It is situated in the historic market town of Stratton, about 1.2 miles from the North Cornwall coast. The Grade II buildings encircle a courtyard full of flowers and character. Come and see the home of "The Last of the Cornish Giants", a civil war hero standing 7' 4" in 1643 whose picture, a gift from Charles II, dominates the courtyard. One of Cornwall's oldest and most treasured pubs has recently been sensitively refurbished and a new team of chefs prepare from local produce. Aside from the restaurant we welcome well behaved dogs. There is limited street parking but a free large car park is only 2 minutes walk away: for sat nav EX23 9DS.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Nice warm greeting and managed to get a table with booking. I suspect you would need to book as the holiday season arrives.
Both really enjoyed our meals and the friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank-you Jeremy glad your enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Simon & Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 183 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Hosts were lovely, the food was amazing. Great atmosphere as well. Dog friendly and would definitely eat there again.

Thank Kati E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

This is a friendly pub owned by Cath and Simon , who are great hosts .
Had one evening meal here which was very good cuisine and beautifully presented. The fish cakes were the best I have ever eaten. And a very accomplished wine list to accompany the food . The establishment also has an array of good beers and an extensive gin selection which is a dangerous thing !
Also tried the Sunday Carvery , which although very busy was good food and excellent value.
Hats off to the owners , they are creating a wonderful food experience without detracting from a classic pub to have a drink . Shame it’s not closer !

Thank nimble1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Hi, is that Kenny? Was wonderful to host you and Sophia we had a scream :-) Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review - very much hope to see you again ere long.

Best wishes


Simon & Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

13th C building which I enjoyed seeing
Meals were fantastic. Loved the steak and lamb shank

Everything we had was delicious so job well done

Best to book to avoid disappointment. Locals warned us that this place is always busy.

Thank OJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to host you.

Best wishes

Simon & Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Just in Bude for a week this time......We had lots of snow during the weekend so Dad & I went to the Tree for Sunday carvery and took Mums back home on a real plate!....excellent as always with a lovely friendly welcome from Cath and Simon. We all went for Fish n Chips Friday also very good......I would highly recommend the Tree and cant wait for our next visit to Bude

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W29PEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F, Owner at The Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Many thanks Penny, lovely to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tree Inn also viewed

Bude, Bude-Stratton
 
Bude, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to The Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing