We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worst experience ever”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I have to say that out of all the hotels I have stayed in this has to be the worst. Mold in the bathroom, dust in the bedroom no food served due to staff illness. We definitely wont be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
68
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Atlantic house. The location is spectacular. We had a standard, non sea-view room, so our view wasnt stunning but for the very reasonable price we paid, the room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed and spotless. The room was nicely decorated cleaned well everyday which was lovely. On a rainy morning a slight bit of damp appeared on the walll but that was my only slight complaint with the room, otherwise it was lovely.

Breakfast was delicious every morning and serving staff were friendly. The cooked breakfast was very good, but could have been bigger. Also, it might be nice to have the option to have a later breakfast, perhaps until ten.

When asking for local information or advice the desk staff were very helpful and polite.

Again I would like to emphasize that for the price we paid (£80 per night) the room and service were of very good quality. Definitely felt like a 4* stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoeba14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just got back yesterday from a lovely stay at the Atlantic House Hotel and we had a lovely time. I was worried that our room would be dirty and absolutely tiny from some of the previous reviews I'd read, however the staff were so friendly and attentive (I had my case carried all the way up to the room on arrival!) Yes there is limited parking however we didn't have trouble finding space on the road and the hotel was full (as I presume many of the other hotels are along that stretch!) at high season! Our view from our room looked out at a sainsburys carpark but I wasn't staying there to sit on my bed and look out the window and we hadn't asked for a room with a view. Yes the room wasn't the biggest in the world, yes we didn't have a bath in our room- but £80 per night isn't all that bad in my book for a clean, comfortable room right next to the beach in a quaint cornish town! If I'm down that way again I shall be staying there again!
Oh and the breakfast was delicious and was all part of the price- something you don't always get with hotels these days!
If you want luxury and have things to do in the hotel then I suggest finding a bigger hotel or staying at spa place!
Hope this is helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were upgraded to a premier room which had a stunning bay window overlooking Bude bay. The room had been modernised in some areas and was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast/restaurant room also modern and breakfast was nice. Staff were very helpful recommending restaurants - a short drive took us to Elements which set on a cliff top overlooking the sea and sunset was perfect. Bude itself is quiet but for a relaxed weekend away the Atlantic House Hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Make sure you have the sea view rooms - which make for a great stay.
Staff are friendly, rooms are good rather than spectacular - but its a hotel you stay in for the sea side atmosphere/location and views.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_SimonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at this marvellous hotel for 10 days. Service is great and this hotel is run by a lovely couple. The place is clean and well kept and is "a home away from home". We had a lovely room with a bay window offering us splendid views of Bude Castle, Bude Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Just chilling and appreciating the view was simply relaxing and very soothing. The hotel also boasts of a very good fine dining restaurant Sea Fever where one can sample very good Cornish fare. The only comment on the negative side is that breakfast could be varied slightly from one day to the next. However we will definitely be back to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: A lovely experience where one can truly relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise_copperstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great location but not worth the rate we paid - smallest bedroom we have ever stayed in and equally small bathroom. Tea making facilities in the room but no tea or coffee! Had to wait until 8:30am for breakfast which was then only just about adequate for the price. All in all a charmless hotel with no atmosphere and poor facilities

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbec1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bude hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.5 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
5.6 km away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House Hotel

Property: Atlantic House Hotel
Address: 17-18 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bude
Atlantic House Hotel Bude, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing