We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”
Review of The Edgcumbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgcumbe
Ranked #8 of 48 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We decided to try Bude, as we had never visited the north Cornwall coast and after seeing the reviews, booked three nights at The Edgcumbe. We got a wonderful deal and although we didn't have sea views, we were very content. Just loved the "Cape Cod" decor throughout the hotel, very light and clean. As mentioned in previous reviews, this is a family concern and there is just a lovely friendly warmth about the place, nothing was too much trouble. There was a great choice for breakfast, full English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, continental and 3 or 4 choices of muffin. They also do coffees, cakes, sandwiches and snacks during the day and evening. Must also mention the sleep quality, our bed was soooo comfortable. We were very impressed with Bude, had a lovely walk along the canal and there seemed lots to do for families. All in all fabulous and would certainly return to The Edgcumbe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    28
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
147
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fordham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just enjoyed an amazing break at the Edgcumbe. Superb hotel and excellent staff. The rooms are very clean and bright with lots of nice touches like excellent toiletries from St Kitts Herbary. The breakfasts are plentiful with a good choice on offer. Nothing is too much for the staff who incidentally are very friendly and helpful. If you are staying in Bude look no further than the Edgcumbe. We shall return again and again!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Once again a super few days in an idyllic situation . Amazing atmosphere, great food and wine, pleasant relaxing rooms and very friendly staff. I always enjoy my stays here it is like home from home and as a single traveller I can relax knowing I'll be well looked after and taken care of.I look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: Front rooms have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, run by a family who are very keen to ensure that you have the best holiday experience. Would recommend it to anyone. The view from our room(double deluxe) was fantastic, even though the weather was not marvellous.

Room Tip: read the descriptions on the website, they are all very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Over the years, I've stayed in some very well regarded hotels - including many of the greats in the world's capitals. Very few of them offer the welcome and attention to detail that the Edgcumbe provides as standard.

It's run by a family with a truly professional attitude combined with tremendous warmth.
The rooms are simple: comfortably furnished with great beds and very clean.

Rooms at the front have a fantastic view of the beach.

Breakfast is relaxed. A great choice of fruit etc plus a full English if required - including vegetarian choices.

It's comfortable, clean and fantastic value. It's got great food, great people and great views. It's got free WiFi.

Along with TerraVina in the New Forest, it's one of my two favourite UK hotels (but the Edgcumbe is just one fifth of the cost of the New Forest place...)

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Edgcumbe.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the beach is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoxiLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I recently went to a guitar retreat (www.guitar-retreats.co.uk) in Bude, Cornwall, which was excellent. The venue for the guitar retreat was The Edgcumbe, a small family run hotel right overlooking Summerleaze Beach in Bude. What a place! I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely return. The staff were great and the hospitality, room comfort, food and venue were all excellent - way better than I expected. I would highly recommend this family run hotel to anyone visiting Bude.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Set in a wonderful position overlooking Bude, and offering breakfast (great choice!) and comfort as good as any, this is one we really would like to go back to. Run with efficiency, friendliness and professionalism by 5 members of the same extended family who take every step to ensure that clients enjoy their stay and in a very relaxed and informal way. An added bonus was the mere 5 minute walk to an excellent meal at "Life's a Beach".

Room Tip: Have a sea view room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.5 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
615 reviews
0.1 km away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
188 reviews
0.5 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
530 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgcumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgcumbe

Property: The Edgcumbe
Address: Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgcumbe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period property on the outside, seaside chic on the inside, so much more than a B & B, with a look and feel more suited to a small boutique hotel. A relaxed and easy bar area with board games and quizzes for cosy evenings in and and a contemporary yet relaxing dining room for breakfast and home-cooked evening meals. Great spot overlooking the coast, cliffs and town and an easy walk to town centre and 2 great surfing beaches. Everything you need for a great break in an unspoilt and stunning area with accommodation to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgcumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgcumbe Bude, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing