We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem. Perfect in every way”
Review of Broadlands Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broadlands Gate
Ranked #10 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem. Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

We do not usually post reviews however this is such an exceptional B&B we had to share the experience. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and special.
John and Brian are wonderful hosts, their home is beautiful and the bedrooms and separate sitting room are very comfortable and private.
They went to so much trouble to make our stay special, they even remembered it was my husband's birthday and took the trouble to leave a card on our bed? It is these little touches that make Broadlands Gate so very special.
Breakfast was brilliant and we ate in their beautiful dining room overlooking a fabulous garden. Book, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from two night stay for my birthday cannot recommend this b&b highly enough. Nothing can be faulted, lovely home, great breakfast, spotless, extensive advice, comfy, warm, huge bed, sky TV and John and Brian look after you like family. Also great location for the village, bike hire and country walks. First night we went to the Indian in the village, good service and tasty curry. Second night we went to The Pig (approx £5 taxi ride away from train station), which made a nice treat, again lovely food, good service and lots of cocktails, bit more pricey than the local village pubs but worth visit if special occasion. You need to go here! Would love to go back in the summer and sit in their huge garden! Thank you for a nice time and looking after us John and Brian p.s Alice and Alex the dogs are great too.
Jessica and James, Clapham London

Room Tip: Both rooms are great, if you want a but more room go for the Master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hospitality, congeniality and sociability at its best.
Loved the location,-even quiet for the New Forest.
Loved our room/suite. double Bedroom, bthroom/loo and separate loo.Cute lounge with sky tv. - fridge, ice buckets, glasss, bona mugs. Beyootiful home. Nothing was too much trouble. Infact we felt more like friends than paying guests........so much so we took in some flowers for them before we left for home. It's a must go to and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed for one night in February - my sister and I shared the two bedroom apartment, which was incredibly comfortable. And our parents had the other bedroom upstairs. We had a lovely stay - John and Brian are great Hosts and want nothing more than for their guests to feel at home. The house is right in the middle of the New Forest, and a short walk into Brockenhurst village. Highly recommend hiring bikes to go exploring - especially worth stopping off at the pub in Bank for lunch! Would go back like a shot. The dogs are an added bonus!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

As I read some of the earlier reviews of Broadlands Gate it is challenging to heap more praise onto Broadlands Gate as my #1 choice for a wonderful relaxing stay in Brockenhurst. We stayed four nights and used the B&B as a base from which we took beautiful rides in the New Forest trails as well as throughout the area. There are interesting pubs in the vicinity, all within a reasonable bike ride, and good restaurants as well in the town. We also took a side trip by train to the Isle of Wight and that proved to be a wise choice. I've attached a few photos to give you an idea of what we saw. But this review is mostly about Broadlands Gate and we could not have been more pleased with the comfort of the home and garden, the warmth and hospitality provided by John and Brian (and the welcome attention from Alice and Alex - their dogs), and the sumptuous breakfast they served each and every morning, which negated any need for lunch later in the day. You cannot find more gracious hosts than John and Brian nor feel feel more welcomed as part of the family while in their home.

Room Tip: It appeared that all the rooms were comfortable and while I only stayed in one suite, we did see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Broadlands Gate is a wonderful B&B, and John and Brian are fantastic hosts. We have stayed here twice (June & Sept 2011), and both times exceeded our expectations. The house is extremely large and comes with a wonderful garden in which you relax after cycling or walking the beautiful tracks around the New Forest. We stayed in the master suite both times which has two double bedrooms, your own private lounge and both a bathroom with WC and a separate WC. It is contained in the house but it is more akin to having your own private apartment. John & Brian are both extremely friendly and amenable without being intrusive so we were able to enjoy time talking to them and also have time to ourselves in our suite. They have two friendly dogs, Alice & Alexander, who are also in the house and love attention. You can't resist making a fuss of them every time you meet them.

The house is located on a quiet private road and one of the many cycle tracks runs right outside the door. However, be prepared! We needed a hour or so to digest the large and sumptuous breakfast that John provides before we could even contemplate getting on a bike!

I ran the New Forest marathon on Sept 25th and whereas some owners may have not allowed a late check-out, John and Brian had no problems in allowing me to come back in the afternoon, take a shower and even offered us the chance to relax in the garden. This will be the only B&B that we consider next time we are in the New Forest.

Room Tip: The Master Suite has 2 bedrooms, a lounge, a separate WC, and a full bathroom with shower/bath/toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick_Hindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We entirely agree with the excellent reviews of this lovely property. John and Brian are the most hospitable of hosts, their attention to detail is second to none and their service is exceptional. We stayed for two nights in the Master Suite where we had two large, very clean and well appointed bedrooms, a sitting room, bathroom and a separate wc. Our bed was extremely comfortable with fresh white linen and our sitting room had a fridge, kettle and masses of magazines about the local area. Our breakfasts were delicious with a full English or something lighter on offer and also freshly brewed coffee. The location of the property is ideal for biking and hiking from the door and is very quiet in a perfect rural setting, whilst being close to all rail and road communications. We did not have time to sample the garden which looked so lovely from our window. John's suggestion for a meal at The Hobler Inn was great and we had a delicious meal there on Saturday evening. Thank you again John and Brian for looking after us so well and we would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregnmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.8 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.5 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
4.7 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
7.1 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadlands Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadlands Gate

Property: Broadlands Gate
Address: Broadlands Gate Broadlands Road | North Weirs, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadlands Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian Country House is tucked away on the edge of Brockenhurst Village in the heart of the New Forest. The emphasis of guests staying here is orientated to their comfort and to ensure that their stay at Broadlands Gate is a very relaxed and an enjoyable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Broadlands Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadlands Gate Brockenhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing