We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was our first trip to the New Forest and the hotel is in an excellent location for exploring this wonderful part of the country. However, like a lot of other reviewers we found the hotel very dated and slightly grubby. The bedspread was grubby and we had to replace the mugs in our room which were cracked and dirty. My partner had also pre-booked champagne, flowers and chocolates to be delivered to our room for my birthday but had to chase this 3 times as a) no champagne had been ordered, b) the flowers arrived late and c) the girl on reception he originally spoke to twice about this left for the day without sorting the problem out. However, when the champagne and flowers did arrive, they were wonderful. We were also disappointed with the quality of the food. However, on a positive note the staff were generally very friendly despite working in difficult conditions in that they room keys didn't work so we had to be escorted to our room every time we needed entry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us recently. I am sorry about the bedspread and mugs, we are planning to alter the bedspreads very soon to give us the ability to ensure we do not have this problem going forward. I apologise for not having the flowers and champagne ready in your room for arrival, we do always try our best but for various reasons we may not have had the delivery early enough or it may have simply been human error during a very busy time, not that this is meant by way of an excuse. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and yes it had been a very trying 11 days whilst we were without bedroom keys, but I do hope we managed to get all guests into their bedrooms without too much of a delay during this time and I am delighted to say that as of yesterday afternoon the locks are back in working order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    186
    107
    74
    79
See reviews for
128
275
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great Location for exploring the New Forest , which is just across the road, A riding school next door if horses are your thing, Its located about 1/2 mile from Brockenhurst railway station and the same to the shops . It has very friendly staff, Breakfast next morning was superb with lots of different choices , The dining area clean and tidy, Check in and out was fast and without problem.
The beds were excellent, it was quiet and we slept like logs, The hotel itself is a 19th century building with stained glass windows and lots of period features , It is a little worn around the edges , but nothing that offended us, The price was excellent and far better than most for the price (£60 including 3 breakfasts) . There is plenty of parking , about 15 spaces out the front and a large car park for around 25 cars out the back .
I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stiavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very much appreciated when the staff learn that their efforts and hard work are noticed, thank you. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is very olde worlde and is gorgeous, the staff are absolutely amazing, the food is good especially the choices as breakfast, the grounds are beautiful and there is a riding stable at the side of the hotel, it costs £33 for an hours horse riding and goes through the forest, i reccommend everyone to have a go at this. You will find cows, horses and donkeys just roaming freely on the roads.

Room Tip: room 27 on 2nd floor looks over the grounds and is beautiful in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairydafodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us recently, I am pleased you both had an enjoyable time and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. It is lovely to hear such positive comments in relation to the staff and the offerings of the hotel, it certainly is appreciated by all of us. The animals do raom freely which is lovely to see, even the donkeys that ate my plants by the front door!! Thank you again for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have styayed here a few times over the last couple of years - for the location rather than the hotel itself. I must admit this time I found the hotel too tired and grubby for my liking. The staff are great, very friendly and helpful but the hotel itself needs a good refurbishment. The first room I was given had a noise problem as an adjoining room (upstairs?) had a persistant noise from the saniflo toilet macerator/pum un it which kept cutting in and out. After about 45mins of this I reported it to reception and was transferred to another room for which I am very grateful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetRickyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your comments following your latest stay with us. I am sorry about the noise level from the mascerator in an adjoining bedroom, unfortunately we do have to use these systems as do many older building hotels where en-suites were not part of the original building/pipe work. I am very pleased we moved your room as soon as you notified us of the issue. It is lovely to hear how the staff and their efforts are recognised and I am sorry to hear your feelings towards the hotel after your previous stays. We are doing as much as possible within the hotel to keep moving forward, unfortunately this is not a quick and easy process. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Really dont understand all the negative comments regarding this hotel, have just returned from a very pleasant couple of nights. Rooms were spacious and clean and decorated in the style you would expect for a hotel in the middle of the new forest (not ultra-modern). Lovely view of the garden and a large bathroom with shampoo, body lotion and showel gel supplied.
All the food was fantastic, had cream tea, three course dinner and breakfast both mornings- the breakfast was cooked to order and just perfect; the dinner menu had a good choice and was delicious.
We had drinks in the bar which weren`t overpriced with a nice choice of ale and was cosy.
Overall the hotel had fantastic history, the staff were more than helpful and polite and we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsonic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and what we offer here, we do try to offer a reasonable selection when it comes to food and beverage and all the staff work very hard to ensuring the guests stay is as enjoyable as possible. It means alot for the staff to hear how their hard work pays off and we do thank you for this recognition. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for another relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

we have read most of the comments about this hotel and agree with most of them. the hotel is tired and dated. our bedroom had a stained carpet and cob webs (room 18). wall paper peeling. and a nasty stain on the underside of the sink quite visable so no exscuse. however as previously mentioned the staff are great very helpful and friendly. we used the tennnis court which was fun except the state of the tennis rackets both broken and would have been better of in the bin. breakfast was very good. with a small amount of money spent on it for basic things this hotel would be excellent the location is superb. and the character and history of the hotel is also worth a mention.Despite the negatives we would recomend this hotel and will definately return.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are good lovely views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westsussexreindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Many thanks for your comments following your stay with us recently. I am sorry we missed a couple of simple things in relation to cleanliness as this should really have been easily dealt with before your check in. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves overall and had a fun time whilst staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I have just seen the tennis rackets and I do apologise for this, they are certainly in need of a make over and I will try and get these replaced as soon as possible, they certainly look as though guests have been enjoying themselves over the past few months! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night B&B stay at the Forest Park Hotel bought for ourselves from Buyagift.com on a very special offer, we chose this hotel as despite reviews saying it was in need of an update it was one of the few that didn't give those with a voucher a bum deal. Let me start with the booking which was straightforward and smooth, on arrival on Sunday afternoon we were directed to our room by a friendly young lady who took the time to point out a walk into the Forest from a point very close to the hotel (which was lovely). Our room (106) was perfectly adequate with 2 tub chairs in the window overlooking the garden, a dressing table and a hospitality table along with a seperate well lit dressing area with plenty of storage should it be required, it was tastefully decorated and very clean - no complaints. The bathroom was tired but we weren't planning to spend long in there, still it was very clean and everything in good working order. Breakfast was lovely, (except the tea!) it was cooked to order and served by friendly staff in a clean and bright dining room. We didn't use the restaraunt as the lovely weather kept us out and about but the menu appeared to have something for everyone. My only niggles, which is the reason for the four stars, were probably oversights, but the soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty and was replaced on a shelf without being refilled and a litter bin in the garden was full to overflowing and not emptied during our stay. Overall our stay was better than expected, the staff were lovely (even the breakfast chef who despite having been up for hours and cooking 40 odd variations of breakfast took the time to explain the history of the building to us when we took an interest in a photograph). The location was fabulous and with a little investment the hotel could be fabulous too. We would certainly use this hotel again either if we were returning to the area or if the special offer was repeated on buyagift.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmasmum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted you have had a lovely stay with us and I am very pleased you found the hotel and what we offer to be enjoyable. All the staff work very hard to do as much as we can to make our guests feel relaxed and refreshed from their time with us. I am sorry we are not on top of a couple of things but I am glad these did not spoil your time with us. The hotel was been extremely busy lately and I put these oversights down purely to everyone working so hard and just missing them, not that I say this as an excuse. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel and you can keep up to date with our latest news and offers via our facebook page 'The Forest Park Hotel - Brockenhurst'. Thank you again for your time and your kind comments and we all, including chef!, look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.8 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
6.8 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.3 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.0 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
8.2 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing