We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Park Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Park Manor
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here with our 1yo son for a night this week and we had an absolutely fantastic time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere.

The decor is fairly traditional, especially in the original manor house, but the whole thing has a lovely homely feel. The food was good and even though we were the only ones with a child, they were very happy to accommodate (heating up baby food, supplying plastic bowls etc).

The spa is fantastic. We did not have any treatments but we lazed in the pool which is very modern, warm and clean and has views directly over forest pasture land so you can see deer and ponies from the water! There is also an outdoor hot tub.

The location is peaceful, at the end of a track, just off the Lyndhurst - Brockenhurst road and the views from the hotel are stunning.

I have to say, we stayed in one of the more expensive rooms in the manor house, so I cannot comment on the eves rooms that are mentioned in previous reviews. I guess you get what you pay for.

We are very much looking forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayfieldHorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    145
    78
    44
    22
See reviews for
311
171
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Me and my partner had a fantastic day and evening, all the staff where extremely attentive which made our stay extra perfect! The hotel itself is wonderful the room was spotless and comfortable. The spa also extremely clean and modern, we especially loved the outside hot tub which looked out over the New Forest. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good choice. My partner proposed to me and the staff made sure that it was a very special evening!! A massive thank you! Would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Firstly, this is a 3-star rated hotel although it is in a beautiful building. This review is therefore based on what I'd expect from a 3-star hotel and NOT based on expectations of 4 or 5 star you might have hoped for from a manor hotel with spa.

The general decor is a little faded, but very traditional and opulent. I found the slightly worn feel gave it a cosy and lived-in atmosphere. The staff were all lovely, attentive and friendly. Our room, one of the cheaper ones, was up in the eaves. Although it was small-ish, it was very comfortable with a top-class duvet and mattress. There is no shower over the bath (hand-held only) but excellent showers in the spa, and so we didn't really miss it. I understand that the more pricey rooms do have showers. Good tea/coffee facilities, plenty of sockets and digital TV. We were perfectly happy with the room - quiet, comfy and we had a perfect night's sleep.

Breakfast was excellent, with a very nice selection beyond a full-english. The restaurant in the evening is less so, but adequate (especially if, like us, you're on a full-board package). Otherwise, there's lots of good food in Lyndhurst (don't go to Brockenhurst to eat!).

The spa is magnificent - 5 stars all the way, with a lovely pool and jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, solarium and outdoor hot tub all included in the hotel price. The hotel grounds are beautiful, with new forest ponies and red deer wandering through from time to time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electro-web
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My partner and I ABSOLUTELY ADORE this place! We live in London and have returned to this enchanting hotel and spa numerous times over the last 3 years!

It feels like its in the middle of nowhere surrounded by forest with wandering horses/deer which is the view from all rooms and from the panoramic views of the spa! However in a very short drive there are plenty of restaurants, pubs etc. Further towards the docks there is our favourite Thai food place called Kuti's Royal Thai and a cinema. Saying that, the hotel restaurant has delicious food which is worth paying a bit extra for, so you wont need to leave the hotel during your stay if you don't want to.

Our latest visit was in the last week of Feb 2012 and despite our slight concerns of the hotel becoming more 'family friendly' it was just as peaceful and relaxing as ever. The staff always provide a 5 star service and always seem genuinely friendly and keen to help. And having not been too impressed with our bed on arrival, Claire on reception kindly moved us to another room and really made us feel welcome throughout our 3 day stay.

The spa is very clean with great facilities yet we have never seen it busy! We often find we have it to ourselves (depending on the time of day).

Great rooms, food, service and location, 10 out of 10 for us. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I always love visiting the New Forest so to be taken for my first wedding anniversary was a real treat. We had booked in for a spa weekend including dinner at the Stag restaurant which didn't dissapoint. The surrounding area is beautiful and only 3 mins from brokenhurst station. The spa was lively especially the outdoor jucuzzi looking onto the forest ( like a dream).lovely staff and amazing food.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoEngLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Went for Sunday night special - very good value and included dinner, bed and breakfast. The food at this hotel is of very high quality and we were impressed to see the chef gathering herbs from the garden! There is a variety of rooms. We stayed in the classic room, which once served as servants quarters at the top of the house, but they were fine, although the bathroom could probably do with a refurb in the not too distant future. However the hotel has lots of stairs so may not be suitable for those with disabilities. The pool, leisure and spa are wonderful, although the outdoor tub can sometimes be 'hogged'. We also opted for the champagne tea which was an extra touch for a special occasion. A little expensive, but a good experience, although would have preferred to have eaten it in a more conducive setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedysHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My mum, sister and I were supposed to be staying at New Park Manor last week. I have stayed several times before and have always had very pleasant experiences and so was looking forward to enjoying the hotel's facilities with my family.

However, 48 hours before we were supposed to be arriving we received a phone call from the deputy manager explaining that we needed to pay an extra £155 if we still wanted to come. We explained to the lady on the phone that we had booked a Forest Room for three adults using the online booking system for a rate of £195 so were therefore extremely surprised to receive the phone call. She explained that normally Forest Rooms are reserved for two adults and a child and as we were three adults we would have to pay for an extra room.

I explained that we had selected three adults on the booking system but she just repeated what she had already said. I explained that we had all three of us had booked time off work and that my sister had booked train tickets from London, how much we were looking forward to our stay and that the difference between £195 and £355 was too much. The deputy manager repeatedly cut in, telling me to 'be quiet' so that she 'could get a word in'. I couldn't believe how rude and unhelpful she was.

I asked to speak to the manager and she said she would get him to call me back.

At about 5pm, a good 6 hours after the initial phone call and just over 24hours before we were meant to be arriving I received an e-mail from the manager explaining that there was a problem with their online booking system and that they would honour the rate we had been quoted. Unfortunately the e-mail came too late in the day and at such short notice we had had to make other arrangements.

And quite frankly we did not want to stay in a hotel where the staff clearly need to be enrolled onto some sort of Customer Service Course.

So disappointed.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank EJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.2 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
9.8 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
12.5 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
6.7 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Property: New Park Manor
Address: New Park Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family and dog friendly spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 25 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Muntjac our signature Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, UK - New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing